Chadwick, Abele win feature races at Speedbowl

A pair of local drivers won the twin 35-lap SK Modified features on Saturday night at the Waterford Speedbowl as Ledyard's Tyler Chadwick captured the first race, his fifth win of the year, and Norwich's Tom Abele Jr. won the second race.

Other feature winners Saturday night were Cam McDermott in the SK Light Modifieds, Dan Darnstaedt in the Street Stocks, Garrett Denton in the Mini Stocks and Wayne Shifflett of Preston in the X-Cars.

Chadwick didn't lead the first race a caution flag came out on lap 25. He was in second place at the time, but passed Bozrah's Adam Gada on the outside of turn two on lap 26 to take the lead, which he never relinquished.

Nicole Morgillo ran a strong race to claim second and Rob Janovic Jr. of Waterford rebounded from a wreck last week to place third.

Abele led the second feature early in the race, but Salem's Jeff Pearl took the lead when frontrunners Todd Ceravolo of North Stonington and Janovic crashed in turn one during a lap-21 restart.

Pearl was in control through lap 29 when a slower car moved up the track in front of him, damaging his car and dropping him from the lead. The damage resulted in a final caution period, giving the lead back to Abele. He survived the final restart and beat Todd Owen and Jeff Rocco to the finish line.

Chadwick leads Pearl by 21 points in the overall points race with two events remaining.

Denton's win in the Mini Stock feature was his first of the win, Darnstaedt never trailed in the Street Stock feature but had to hold off Josh Galvin and McDermott took the lead on lap 11 of the SK Light Modified race and never trailed again.

- Day Staff Reports


Loading comments...
Hide Comments