Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.

Sailors graduate from submarine school

Published May 12. 2012 10:00AM   Updated May 12. 2012 10:34AM

Groton — Eighty five sailors, “Class 12220,” USS Kamehameha (SSN-642), graduated from Basic Enlisted Submarine School May 4.

Fireman Recruit Jonathan McEwen, the class honorman, was meritoriously advanced. Seaman Ammon Rossell received the Submarine League’s William Purdum Award for most improved student. Machinist’s Mate Third Class Christopher Colley received the Navy League Award and Electronics Technician Third Class Adam Simpson, the class leader, received the Heritage Award.

Seaman Apprentice Rolando Acosta, Fireman Recruit John Christenson, Damage Controlman Second Class Kurt Wiesemes, Gunner’s Mate First Class Wesley Stotts, Seaman David Wallace, Logistics Specialist First Class Nicolas Levai, Seaman Daniel Hallin, Seaman Jose Deleon, Seaman Apprentice Bubber Johnson, Seaman James Walker, Seaman Apprentice Adam Ross, Seaman Lawrence Mason, Fireman Justin Toby, Seaman Jon-Robert Williams, Seaman Myles Mcarthy, Machinist’s Mate Third Class Ryan Williams, Electronics Technician First Class Eugene Parra, Seaman Apprentice Edward Greer, Fire Controlman Third Class Gilbert Otero, Seaman Recruit Robert Mansfield, Electrician Mate Third Class Evan Nesky, Seaman Apprentice Thomas Green, Machinist’s Mate Third Class Christopher Colley and Fireman Recruit Jonathan McEwen were graduates with distinction.


News by Town

Most Recent Poll
What was your reaction to President Obama announcing his support for same-sex marriage?
I thought it was long overdue.
I was pleased but do not consider myself passionate about this issue.
I agree with the president but worry it will hurt his chances in the election.
I was disappointed and fear the precedent this could set.
I disagree but see this as nothing more than political posturing.
Number of votes: 1564

No current items found