People in the News

Honor Roll Students

• Choate Rosemary Hall, Winter Term 2012-'13: Rachel Alpert of Madison, Lauren Berestecky of Madison, Katherine Botta of Madison, George Brencher of Killingworth, Charles Burdge of Killingworth, Ryan Dant of Madison, Christine Etzel of Madison, Noah Hastings of Madison, Josie Lee of Madison, Ian MacDougald of Madison, Katherine Miller of Madison, Hannah O'Leary of Killingworth, Alexander Rupp-Coppi of Madison, Jacob Smith of Killingworth, Emily Wang of Killingworth, Rebecca Wang of Killingworth, and Choiwing Yeung of Madison.

• The Kent School, Winter Term 2012-'13: Andie Marczewski of Killingworth, a sophomore.

• The Loomis Chaffee School, Winter Term 2012-'13: Anna Esposito of Killingworth, a sophomore, and Fletcher Lent of Madison, a sophomore.

• Mercy High School, 2nd Marking Period 2012-'13: Kathryn Bauer (Killingworth, senior, first honors), Megan Benson (Madison, junior, high honors), Sydney Billings (Madison, sophomore, second honors), Katherine Civitello (Killingworth, junior, second honors), Emily Darin (Killingworth, senior, high honors), Rebecca Epright (Killingworth, freshman, first honors), Nicole Harry(Killingworth, sophomore, high honors), Jessica Korpinen (Killingworth, junior, first honors), Kathleen McIntosh (Madison, sophomore, second honors), Megan Neely (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Holly Nord (Killingworth, senior, first honors), Katherine Simoniello (Killingworth, freshman, second honors), and Hannah Sullivan (Killingworth, senior, high honors).

• Notre Dame High School, 1st Term 2012-'13: Padraic Connors (Madison, freshman, first honors), Austin Hoag (Madison, freshman, second honors), Christopher Lamberti (Madison, freshman, second honors)

• Sacred Heart Academy, 1st Quarter 2012-'13: Abigale Agresta (Madison, junior, honors), Mary Disbrow (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Willa Disbrow (Killingworth, sophomore, high honors), Cassandra Moore (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Elizabeth Smith (Madison, freshman, high honors), Laura Smith (Madison, freshman, high honors), and Bryn Webster (Killingworth, senior, high honors).

• The Sound School: Huxley Conner of Madison earned high honors with distinction.

• Vinal Technical High School, 1st Quarter 2012-'13: Avram Burg (Killingworth, sophomore, high honors), Cody Connell (Killingworth, freshman, honors), and Salvatore Esposito (Killingworth, sophomore, honors).

• Xavier High School, 2nd Term 2012-'13: John Burkinshaw (Madison, junior, honors), Kenneth Callahan (Killingworth, junior, honors), Sam Civitello (Killingworth, junior, honors), Daniel Drabinski (Madison, senior, high honors), Peter Drabinski (Madison, sophomore, high honors), Troy Earley (Killingworth, freshman, high honors), Michael Epright (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Kyle Ericson (Madison, freshman, honors), Jesse Ferrara (Killingworth, junior, honors), John Kessler (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Luke Kessler (Killingworth, freshman, high honors), Matthew Lee (Madison, junior, high honors), Christopher Leffingwell (Killingworth, junior, high honors), John McConville (Madison, freshman, honors), Matthew Marotti (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Miles Michaud (Madison, freshman, honors), Clayton Moore (Killingworth, freshman, honors), Ryan Offner (Killingworth, freshman, honors), N. Connor Payne (Madison, junior, honors), Austin Richard (Madison, freshman, honors), Michael Simoniello (Killingworth, sophomore, high honors), Connor Sullivan (Killingworth, sophomore, high honors), Evan Swanson (Killingworth, freshman, high honors), James Thurston (Killingworth, junior, high honors), Luke Velez (Killingworth, junior, honors), and James Yakimoff (Killingworth, junior, honors).

Career Achievements

Susan Adams, R.N., BSN, MHSA, Ph.D., of Madison was elected to serve as a member-at-large on the Connecticut Association of Home Care & Hospice Board of Directors. Adams is regional vice president and administrator for Masonicare Home Health & Hospice.

Carol Leavitt Altieri of Madison was a winner in the 2013 White Buffalo Native American Poet Laureate poetry contest for her poem, "Molly Ockett, Indian Doctress."

Attorney Katy Armenia of Madison was named secretary of the Board of Directors of VNA Healthcare of Guilford and Hamden.

Dr. Beth Collins of Madison, who has an office in Guilford, was nominated as one of the "40 Under 40" most influential professionals by Connecticut Magazine.

Susan R. Norz was named director of Sales and Catering at Madison Beach Hotel.

Service Awards and Recognitions

Rosalyn Cama, FASID, of Madison was recognized by the Connecticut Region of the National Organization of Italian American Women as one of Three Wise Women who have excelled in their chosen fields and have made a positive contribution to their communities over time.

John Gaffney of Madison is a candidate for the Connecticut Chapter of the The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's 2013 Man & Woman of the Year award.

Acts of Community Service and Charitable Contributions

Darren Kramer of Madison, WTNH evening news anchor, will lead the annual Walk MS to benefit the National MS Society, Connecticut Chapter, on April 21.

• New Literacy Volunteers-Valley Shore CT Tutors: Pamela Binkley, Susan Donoghue, Susan Duques, Lisa Lapera, Diane Metzler, and Kristine Thorson, all of Madison.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments