Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.

Day staffers earn state SPJ awards

Day staff

Publication: theday.com

Published May 24. 2013 10:00AM   Updated May 24. 2013 11:53PM
Tim Martin/The Day
Photographer Tim Martin received a first-place award in feature photo for this photo of Landon Traylor, 6, of Preston, leaning against his 618.5-pound pumpkin.
Sandy, Newtown news among work honored by journalism group

The Day was recognized for its coverage of Superstorm Sandy and the Newtown shootings, among other work, by the Connecticut chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists at its annual awards banquet Thursday night.

The Day's first-day coverage of Sandy, by reporters Judy Benson, Karen Florin, Sasha Goldstein, Julianne Hanckel, Lee Howard and Izaskun Larrañeta, placed first in spot news.

Photographer Tim Cook took all three places in news photo coverage of the storm. John Ruddy received a first-place award for his front page design.

Photographer Dana Jensen was first for news photo of the Dec. 14 Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting, and photographer Sean D. Elliot received an honorable mention. Goldstein and Anna Isaacs placed second in Newtown spot news.

The Day competes in the 18,000-40,000 circulation category.

JC Reindl was first in investigative reporting for a story on Linda McMahon's bankruptcy, and Hanckel was first in spot news for coverage of a murder in Waterford.

Faye Trafford placed first in business reporting for a profile in Grace magazine of Lisa Konicki, the executive director of the Greater Westerly-Pawcatuck Area Chamber of Commerce. Isaacs placed second in that category, while receiving a first-place award in arts and entertainment reporting for a story on the Ledyard Fair. Kristina Dorsey was second in that category.

The Day's "Class of 2002: Ten Years later" series, written by Benson, Claire Bessette, Kimberly Drelich, Florin, Goldstein, Hanckel, Isaacs, Jennifer McDermott and Greg Smith, was first in feature series. The Day's hiking guide received an honorable mention.

Milton Moore won a first-place award for an informational graphic on the Block Island wind farm, and Benson was first in in-depth reporting for her story on the proposal.

Vickie Fulkerson placed first in sports news with "Coast Guard Academy's Stosz on 40th anniversary of Title IX," and an honorable mention in sports feature.

Jill Blanchette won a first-place award for her front page of OpSail/Sailfest.

Theday.com's interactive graphic on the War of 1812 received two first-place awards, for design, by Joe Ruggeri, and for content, which was written by Brian Hallenbeck, John Ruddy and Joe Wojtas.

Tim Martin received first place for the "Shelito's way" slideshow, while Peter Huoppi received a second place award and an honorable mention in video.

Martin placed first in feature photo and news photo and received an honorable mention in news photo. Elliot was first in photo layout and received a second place and an honorable mention in feature photo. Cook was first in sports photo and received honorable mentions in sports photo and photo layout. Jensen was second in sports photo.

Melissa Babcock received a first-place award for her astronomy column. David Collins received an honorable mention for opinion column and Paul Choiniere an honorable mention in editorial writing.

Other reporting awards went to Florin, second, general reporting; and Bessette, honorable mention, investigative series.

News by Town

Most Recent Poll
The Boy Scouts vote Thursday on an openly gay policy. What do you think the policy should be?
I think that individual troop leaders should be able to decide.
I oppose any easing of the ban.
I have long been among those who have protested the no-gays policy.
Whatever the outcome of Thursday's vote, I'm afraid the organization won't recover from this divisive debate.
Number of votes: 240

No current items found