Login  /  Register  | 3 premium articles left before you must register.
theday.com
Thu., Jul. 31, 2014
NEWS | BUSINESS | SPORTS | OPINION | A&E
UConn releases 2013-14 basketball schedule

By Gavin Keefe

Publication: theday.com


UConn released its 2013-14 men's basketball schedule today.

Two games against defending national champion and fellow American Athletic Conference member Louisville highlight the schedule.

ESPN College GameDay comes to Storrs on Jan. 18 when UConn hosts Louisville. CBS will broadcast the second meeting on March 8 in Louisville. It also will be the regular season finale.

UConn opens the AAC schedule with a road trip to Texas, visiting Houston Dec. 31 and SMU on Jan. 4. The conference home opener is Jan. 11 against Central Florida.

The Huskies play a total of 31 regular season games, including 18 in the conference. They face every conference opponent twice.

Memphis will host the first AAC Championship March 12-15 at the FedEx Forum.

Basketball fans will get their first look at the Huskies on Nov. 4 when they host Southern Connecticut State University in the exhibition opener. The site has yet to be announced. They play Concordia University on Nov. 4 in another exhibition.

The Huskies begin the 2013-14 season against Maryland on Nov. 8 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn,N.Y. Their home opener is against Yale on Nov. 11.

In other UConn, freshman Terrence Samuel, a guard out of South Shore High School in Brooklyn, has been cleared to enroll at UConn. He took some summer classes back home to meet NCAA requirements. He was given the green light Wednesday. The fall semester begins next week.

Here's the entire schedule (some home sites and times not yet released):

Wed, Oct. 30 -- Southern Connecticut State University (exhibition), 7 p.m.

Mon, Nov. 4 --Concordia University(exhibition), 7 p.m.

Fri, Nov. 8 -- Maryland, ESPN2, Barclays Center, Brooklyn,N.Y., 6:30 p.m.

Mon, Nov. 11 – Yale

Thu, Nov. 14 –Detroit, 7 p.m., 2K Sports Classic

Sun, Nov. 17 --Boston University, noon, 2K Sports Classic

Thu, Nov. 21 –Boston College, Madison Square Garden, N.Y, 7 p.m., 2K Sports Classic semifinal

Fri, Nov. 22 -- Indiana or Washington, MSG, 5 p.m./7 p.m., 2K Sports Classic consolation, championship

Tue, Nov. 26 -- Loyola (Md.), 7 p.m.

Mon, Dec. 2 –Florida, 7 p.m.

Fri, Dec. 6 –Maine, 7 p.m.

Wed, Dec. 18 – Stanford, 9 p.m.

Sun, Dec. 22 – at Washington

Sat, Dec. 28 – Eastern Washington, 1 p.m.

Tue, Dec. 31 – at Houston, 9 p.m.

Sat, Jan. 4 – at SMU, 2 p.m.

Wed, Jan. 8 – Harvard, 7 p.m.

Sat, Jan. 11 –Central Florida, 6 p.m.

Thu, Jan. 16 – at Memphis, 7 p.m.

Sat, Jan. 18 –Louisville, 9 p.m., Storrs

Tue, Jan. 21 –Temple, 7 p.m.

Sat, Jan. 25 – at Rutgers, 7 p.m.

Thu, Jan. 30 –Houston, 9 p.m.

Thu, Feb. 6 – at Cincinnati, 7 p.m.

Sun, Feb. 9 – at Central Florida, 6 p.m.

Wed, Feb. 12 –South Florida, 7 p.m.

Sat, Feb. 15 –Memphis, noon

Thu, Feb. 20 – at Temple, 9 p.m.

Sun, Feb. 23 – SMU, 2 p.m.

Wed, Feb. 26 – at South Florida, 7 p.m.

Sat, March 1 –Cincinnati, noon

Wed, March 5 –Rutgers, 7 p.m.

Sat, March 8 – at Louisville, 2 p.m.

Tue-Sat, March 12-15 – AAC Championship, FedExForum, Memphis, Tenn.


Copyright 2012 The Day Publishing Company
 Full Site | Sign up for text alerts | Deal of The Day | Contact Us | Member Services