UConn women's schedule features the old and the new

The UConn women's basketball team will be seeing both old and new faces this season as it begins life in the fledgling American Athletic Conference and defends its national championship.

The Huskies' schedule features six games against teams that finished in the top 10 of last season's RPI and five against teams that won a conference championship.

UConn will begin exhibition play at home against Gannon on Friday, Nov. 1. It will play host to Hartford in its first regular season game (Friday, Nov. 9).

The Huskies have nonconference games vs. Pac-12 champion Stanford (Monday, Nov. 11), at Maryland (Friday, Nov. 15) and at Atlantic Coast Conference champion Duke (Tuesday, Dec. 17).

UConn will also play all of last season's Final Four teams - California at Madison Square Garden in the Maggie Dixon Classic (Sunday, Dec. 22), at Big 12 champion Baylor (Monday, Jan. 13) and a regular-season finale at Louisville (Monday, March 3) in a rematch of last season's national championship.

Penn State, last season's Big 10 regular season champion, will play host to the Huskies on Sunday, Nov. 17.

UConn's first AAC game will be at home against Cincinnati on Sunday, Dec. 29. It will play home-and-home contests against Central Florida, Cincinnati, Houston, Louisville, Memphis, Rutgers, South Florida, SMU (last season's Conference USA regular season champion), and Temple.

Mohegan Sun Arena will host the inaugural AAC tournament March 7-10.

The sites for the Huskies' home games will be announced at a later date.

See complete schedule, page B4.

- Day Staff Reports

Hide Comments

READER COMMENTS

Loading comments...
Hide Comments