32 East Lyme officials sworn in at ceremony

East Lyme - Thirty-two recently elected town officials were sworn in Monday at a ceremony at the high school.

The inauguration of four-term First Selectman Paul Formica and the swearing in of 31 other elected officials featured speeches on public service and the community.

The elected officials represented the town's zoning commission, planning commission, board of assessment appeals, board of education, board of finance, board of selectmen, tax collector, town clerk and treasurer.

"I am confident you are up to the challenge and will serve the citizens of East Lyme well," state Rep. Ed Jutila, D-East Lyme, told the officials in the opening remarks.

Formica presented Mary Cahill and Edward Morris, the state central committeeman of District 20, with distinguished service awards. Cahill has served on the Water and Sewer Commission and worked on behalf of the town's beach communities, said Formica. Morris is a longtime member of the Democratic Town Committee who has served on the Board of Selectmen and town commissions.

The event also featured music by the East Lyme Chamber Strings and "The Star-Spangled Banner" sung by Olivia Formica and Paul Lussier, as well as the presentation of colors by the East Lyme Police Department.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments