UConn women finish Texas two step tonight

Dallas - The top-ranked UConn women's basketball team completes a two-game road trip through Texas tonight when they face Southern Methodisit in an Amerian Athletic Conference game at Moody Coliseum (8 p.m., SNY).

The Huskies (28-0, 15-0) beat Houston 92-41 on Saturday night and already own a victory over the Mustangs, 102-41 on Feb. 4.

SMU is 16-10, 7-8.

UConn, which has won 34 straight games, then returns home for its final regular-season game at Gampel Pavilion against Rutgers on Saturday before ending at No. 3 Louisville on Monday, March 3, in a game that will determine the regular-season AAC champion.

The Huskies remain shorthanded with junior All-American Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis sidelined for at least one more week while she recovers from mononucleosis, but 5-foot-8 freshman guard Saniya Chong has played well in her place, starting the last two games and earning AAC Rookie of the Week honors on Monday after averaging 12 points and 7 rebounds in a two games last week. She had 17 points and 10 rebounds in UConn's 83-35 win over Central Florida in Hartford and had eight assists and just one turnover in the two games.

UConn's other four starters continue to have All-American-type seasons.

Sophomore Breanna Stewart, the leading candidate for AAC and national player of the year honors, is averaging 19.3 points and 8.1 rebounds per game while shooting 50 percent from the floor and 78 percent from the foul line. But senior guard Bria Hartley is playing the best basketball of her career - averaging 16.3 points - center Stefanie Dolson remains steady (13.0 points. 9.1 rebounds) and sophomore Moriah Jefferson has emerged as one of the nation's most improved guards, averaging 10.1 points and leading the AAC in assists (5.2).

Hartley and Jefferson, by the way, were named among the 22 finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award on Monday, an award which goes to the nation's top Division I point guard. The list will be narrowed to five in March and the winner will be announced during the NCAA Final Four in April. Previous UConn winners were Sue Bird (three times), Diana Taurasi (twice) and Renee Montgomery in 2009.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments