Valley Regional Debating Success

Valley Regional High School's debators are, from left, front: Acacia Bowden, Tina Mitchel, Phoebe Petrovic, Katie Mulligan, Maggie Klin, Julia Hammond, Zane Bouregy, Monique Johnson, Isabella Reynolds, and Lindsey Lent and back row: Mike Leffingwell, McCaffrey Corbett, Maleena Frazier, Charlotte Boland, Maya Whitcomb, and Joe diTomasso.

The Valley Regional High School Debate Team sent eight teams to the State Policy Debate Competition on March 25. Sixty teams from high schools around the state competed through three rounds in which each team had to debate twice, arguing for both sides of the issue. This year's resolve is: "That the Constitution of the State of Connecticut be amended to remove restrictions concerning absentee ballots and to permit a person to vote without appearing at a polling place on the day of an election."

Valley had three teams move on to round three with a win-win record. They were Phoebe Petrovic and Katie Mulligan, Zane Bouregy and Isabella Reynolds, and Charlotte Boland and Maleena Frazier. After round three, two Valley teams earned the right to move on to the next round at the State Legislative Office Building. They were Petrovic and Mulligan, and Bouregy and Reynolds.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments