Local calendar

BASEBALL/SOFTBALL

21st Annual Batter Up Baseball Camp - July 7-11, Bride Brook Park in East Lyme. The camp is open to all players ages 5-12, and runs 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. daily. Fee: $135 per camper with family and group discounts available. Contact: camp director Bill Buscetto, (860) 514-5144 or billbuscetto@aol.com

Tri-County Baseball School - July 7-11, 9 a.m.-noon, Colchester Recreation Complex. For children ages 6-13 and directed by Bacon Academy coach Dave Shea and featuring a number of guest lecturers from college and pro ranks. Contact: Dave Shea, (860) 537-5782.

All-American Softball Pitching/Catching and Hitting Camp - July 21-24, 9 a.m.-noon, ages 7-14, at Vets Field in Waterford. Directors are Andy Walker and Waterford High School coach Liz Sutman. Contact: (860) 961-9742 or email pawball@hotmail.com.

Gene Sutera Baseball Tournament - Now taking applications. Little League tournament that runs from July 18-Aug. 3. Applications and other information available online at www.genesuteratournament.com.

Falcon Baseball Summer Camp - Aug. 4-8, 9 a.m.-noon, Rossie Field. For players ages 8-12. Cost: $110 per player. Register at mysticlittleleague.com, email t.taber@sbcglobal.net or call (860) 908-6566.

CT Hurricanes baseball - Looking for 18u players for the fall season. Contact: Scott Chiasson at scottchiasson@me.com or (860) 334-5630.

FOOTBALL

Eastern Board of Approved Football Officials clinics Looking for new members to officiate high school and youth games throughout the area. Clinics begin July 22 and run through the beginning of the season. Contact: recruiting@ecfo.org or www.ecfo.org

GOLF

8th annual Bill Bentley Memorial Golf tournament - Monday, July 21, Great Neck Country Club. Lunch at noon and shotgun start at 1 p.m, with dinner to follow golf. Cost: $150. Benefits Lawrence+Memorial Hospital Community Cancer Center and Temple Emanu-El Youth Services. Guaranteed raffle prizes for all golfers, plus additional prizes for low gross and net, closest to the pin on par 3s, longest drive and 50-50 hole. For more info: contact Scott Wolfe, 860-449-3009 or scottwolfe11@comcast.net

Avery Point baseball tournament - Friday, July 25, Shennecossett Golf Course in Groton, 12:30 p.m. Cost: $150 per player. Includes lunch and banquet dinner at Branford House. Contact: (860) 405-9183.

Lyman Memorial tournament - Saturday, July 26, Blackledge Golf Course in Hebron, 12:30 p.m. Cost: $110 per player. Includes dinner. Contact: Jeff Gaucher at jeffgaucher@yahoo.com or (860) 228-9593, Ryan Fabry at ryan.fabry@yahoo.com or (860) 949-4829, Chris Fabry at chrisfabry@yahoo.com or (860) 334-1994.

RUNNING

2014 Norwich Rec Runs 50th season - Thursdays, July 10-Aug. 28, Mohegan Park Center, Norwich, open to ages 6 and over. Schedule is as follows: 6:15 p.m., group stretching and warmup; 6:30 p.m., 1/2-mile run; 6:45 p.m., 1-mile run; 7 p.m., 3-mile run (timed). Children under 6 must be accompanied by an adult for shorter races. In 3-mile event, children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult. Contact: Norwich Recreation Department at (860) 823-3791.

SOCCER

Mendonca Soccer School - For boys and girls. Technical training programs, high school training programs and fitness circuit training programs available from late June through early August in various age groups. Also offering docafutebol academy which will form teams for 8u-18u teams. Contact: www.mendoncasoccer,com, mendoncasoccer@yahoo.com or (203) 589-6018.

Hide Comments

READER COMMENTS

Loading comments...
Hide Comments