Speedbowl hosts Budweiser 150 tonight

The Waterford Speedbowl holds one of its biggest races of the season tonight when the 18th annual Budweiser Modified Nationals SK-150 highlights a seven-division Thunder on the Sound weekend program.

The race has a purse in excess of $20,000 and tonight's winner will receive $5,000.

Qualifying races begin at 5 p.m. with opening ceremonies and the first race scheduled to begin at 6:30.

"It's a celebration of our weekly competitors," said track owner Terry Eames, who began the annual race in 1997. "They deserve the attention. They deserve the pay day. They are the backbone of what we do and it's only fitting we honor them with a big it."

Keith Rocco, who won the 100th race of his career at the Speedbowl last week, is the defending champion.

Rocco was also involved in the race's biggest controversy a year earlier.

He was leading the 2012 race when rain ended the night early and was resumed two weeks later. But Rocco was suspended prior to the the completion of the race and Todd Ceravolo, subbing for Rocco, went on to win the race.

Ceravolo, meanwhile, was in position to win the 2011 race when he ran out of fuel late and was overtaken by Woody Pitkat.

Dennis Gada, a seven-time track champion, has won the race twice along with Eric Berndt and Ron Yuhas Jr.

In addition to the Budweiser 150, the Speedbowl's regular NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing divisions will be in action - SK Light Modifieds, Late Models, Street Stocks and Mini Stocks - along with the Legend Cars and Outlaw Modifieds.

- Day Staff Reports


Loading comments...
Hide Comments