Montville's Delaney, NFA's Staley earn state coaching recognition awards

Montville boys' soccer coach Colin Delaney and Norwich Free Academy unified sports coach Christopher Staley will be among the 27 coaches honored as Outstanding Coaches of the Year by the Connecticut High School Coaches Association.

The CHSCA will hold its 52nd annual Recognition Dinner on May 12 at 7 p.m. at the Aqua Turf in Southington.

The other coaching honorees include: Peter Tucci, baseball, Norwalk; Gary Barcher, boys' basketball, Bloomfield; Jeff Lownds, boys' cross country, Woodland; Eric Bergman, boys' golf, Morgan; Marty Morgan, boys' lacrosse, New Fairfield; Eileen Thurston, boys' swimming, Berlin; Steven Jasulavic, boys' tennis, Wolcott; Tyson Kaczmarek, boys' track, Darien; Jonathan Shepro, boys' volleyball, Staples; MaryAnne Catalano, cheerleading, Greenwich; Deirdre Hynes, field hockey, Wilton; Sean Marinan, Xavier, football; Catrina Hawley-Stewart, girls' basketball, Hillhouse; Douglas Russell, girls' cross country, Newtown; Ronald Barnes, girls' golf, Berlin; Owen Quigley, girls' soccer, Amity; Todd Raney, girls' swimming, Amity; Gary Ribchinsky, girls' tennis, Valley Regional; Brian Collins, girls' track, Glastonbury; Tim Guernsey, girls' volleyball, RHAM; Mark Sorrentino, gymnastics, Nonnewaug; Bob Russel, ice hockey, Greenwich; Joe Sinicrope, indoor track, Suffield; Scott Aresco, softball, Maloney; and Nicholas Garoffolo, wrestling, Fairfield Ludlowe.

In addition, Betty Remigino-Knapp of West Hartford schools is the Athletic Director of the Year while Joe Aresimowicz, state representative, will receive the Joseph J. Fontana Distinguished Service Award, and Michael Pitruzzello of Middletown will receive the Thomas J. Monahan CHSCA Honor Award.

Tickets are $46 and may be obtained by contacting John Fontana at (860) 628-4122. No tickets will be sold at the door.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments