Passero wins second stint as New London council leader

New London - The City Council broke with tradition Monday night and returned Michael Passero to a second year as council president.

Councilor John Maynard was the only one of the seven councilors to vote against the appointment. After the meeting he said could not support putting the same person in charge of the council two years in a row.

The traditionally, the predominately Democratic-controlled council has changed the top position on the council every year. According to the City Charter, a council president must be elected annually at the first meeting in December.

"The council is blazing a new trail under this new Council/Mayor form of government,'' Passero said in a prepared statement during the meeting. "We often don't have the benefit of precedent to guide us and we have to be mindful that much of what we do is setting precedent for future councils.''

Also on Monday, Councilor Wade Hyslop was unanimously reappointed to his position as president pro tempore.

Passero also handed out committee chairmanships, shuffling a few committees. He named himself chairman of the Public Works Committee. Councilor Donald Macrino will head the Finance Committee and Hyslop will lead the Administration Committee.

Councilor Anthony Nolan will return to head the Education, Parks and Recreation Committee; Marie Friess-McSparran will be chairwoman of the Public Welfare Committee; and Adam Sprecace will remain chairman of the Economic Development Committee.

Councilor John Maynard, who was head of administration, will now lead public safety.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments