Local College Roundup: St. Thomas More wins its own tournament

Montville - St. Thomas More captured its annual Founder's Tournament men's basketball championship with a 106-94 victory over Bridgton Academy of Maine on Saturday.

Chris Walters led the Chancellors' balanced attack with 18 points and four rebounds while Marquis Moore finished with 16 points, seven rebounds and four assists and Denzel Gregg added 14 points, six rebounds and three assists.

Central Jersey Each One Teach One Academy (Somerset, N.J.) defeated Elite Development Academy (Brampton, Can.) in the consolation game, 100-75.

In other games:

• Connecticut College lost to Tufts 73-56 in the New England Small College Athletic Conference. Mason Lopez came off the bench to lead Conn (5-12, 0-6) with 15 points, Matt Vadas had 11 points and Aaron McBurnie scored 10.

• UConn-Avery Point lost to Gateway Community College 84-52. New London's Malcolm Simmons had 18 points and eight rebounds for the Pointers (5-9).

• Mitchell dropped a 78-67 decision to Daniel Webster in the New England Collegiate Conference. Daris Cosby led Webster (6-10, 2-5) with 30 points. Joshua Ford had 24 points, nine rebounds and three steals and Anthony Epps and Devonta Mosley had eight rebounds each for Mitchell (7-8, 3-4).

Women's basketball

• Tufts, ranked third in Div. III, beat Connecticut College 61-32 in a NESCAC game. Hayley Kanner scored 17 points for the Jumbos (18-0, 6-0), who are coached by former UConn star Carla Berube. Aly Boyle scored 11 points and Kaitlyn Cresencia had eight rebounds for Conn (7-10, 2-4).

• Babson, ranked 20th in Div. III, outscored Coast Guard Academy 39-14 in the first half and went on to a 75-36 win in the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference. Sarah Collins scored 10 points and had 11 rebounds to lead Babson (15-2, 10-0). Victoria Sutherland came off the bench to score 10 points with six rebounds and Kaitlin Ward had 10 rebounds for Coast Guard (6-9, 4-6).

• Daniel Webster outscored Mitchell College 29-12 in the second half, pulling away for a 67-42 win in a NECC game. Savannah Boyle came off the bench to score 13 with nine rebounds for Mitchell (3-11, 3-5).

Men's hockey

• Trinity College broke a 1-1 tie with two third-period goals and beat Connecticut College 3-1. Brett Curran gave Conn (4-8-3) a 1-0 lead with a first-period goal which Steve Servideo and Mike Sinsigalli assisted on. Tom Conlin made 34 saves for Conn.

Women's hockey

• Ariel DiPasquale and Sam Schoeneberger had a goal and an assist each as they led Connecticut College to a 4-1 win over Wesleyan in a NESCAC game. Amanda Bogue and Olivia Farrell also scored and Kelsie Fralick made 24 saves for Conn (7-7-1, 3-5-1).

Men's swimming

• Derrian Duryea broke the pool record in the 100 breaststroke (57.75 seconds) to highlight Coast Guard's 178-121 win over rival Merchant Marine Academy. Duryea also won the 200 breaststroke (2:09.49) and was part of the winning 200 medley relay and the 400 freestyle relay teams for the Bears (7-2), who handed MMA (6-1) its first loss. Coast Guard had three other double winners in Marco Tinari (500 free, 4:54.28 and 1,000 free, 10:02.25), Christian Brindamour (50 free, 21.14 and 100 free, 47.41) and Andy Anderson (1-meter diving, 264.67 and 3-meter diving, 249.75).

• Conn College won all 14 events and cruised to a 206-51 win over Wesleyan. Sam Gill, Sean Paquette and Dylan Steiner won two events apiece for the Camels (5-3). Gill won the 100 free (46.79) and 100 butterfly (51.13), Paquette captured the 100 back (53.24) and 200 back (1:58.67) and Steiner won the 200 IM (2:03.54) and 200 breast (2:14.73).

Women's swimming

• Chantel Ferguson broke the pool record in the 200 IM (2:15.60) and also won the 100 (1:01.80) and 200 butterfly (2:15.54) as Coast Guard beat Merchant Marine 177-118. The Bears (4-6) also had three double winners in Haley McWilliams (500 free, 5:25.81 and 1,000 free, 11:01.40), Darlene Sao (50 free, 25.75 and 200 free, 2:01.55) and Sara Cantrell (1-meter diving, 232.90 and 3-meter diving, 248.62).

• Conn College improved to 6-2 with a 149-131 win over Wesleyan. Sam Pierce won three events to lead the Camels, capturing the 100 butterfly (1:00.25), 200 free (1:55.33) and 200 IM (2:12.71). In addition, Julia Pielock picked up two wins for Conn in the 50 free (24.49) and 100 free (53.73). Pierce and Pielock were part of the winning 400 free relay team (3:39.19) that included Rachel Wilson and Emma Rotner.

Women's indoor track

• Connecticut College picked up three wins at the Wesleyan Invitational. Sarah Matthews won the 600 in 1:41.43, Kim Bolick won the 800 in a personal best 2:20.98 and Samantha Pevear won the shot at 35-5 1-4.

Michelle Wesley was third in the 100 and the 4x400 relay team of Matthews, Bolick, Caroline Leonard and Wesley were third for Conn.

• Coast Guard won the CGA Winter Invite #2, beating Westfield State 87.5-86.5 while Eastern Connecticut was third with 44.

Hannah Seeland (weight throw), Abby Bishop (long jump), Madison Ahlers (200), Rachel Hill (800) and Beth Gollin (mile) were individual winners for Coast Guard along with the 4x800 relay team of Gollin, Hill, Ellie Wu and Jess Mulroy.

Men's indoor track

• Andrew Duarte led the way for Connecticut College at the Wesleyan Invitational with a personal best time of 2:33.01 in the 1000 meters, good for a third-place finish.

Mike LeDuc was second in the 800 and Conn also got third-place finishes from Tim Murtagh (3000) and the 4x800 relay team of Brad DeMarco, Niall Williams, Old Lyme's Ian Rathkey and Armen Arakelian.

• Coast Guard All-American Adam Scalesse broke the facility record in the 55 meter hurdles as Coast Guard won the CGA Winter Invite #2. Scalesse won with a time of 7.61, topping Blake Novak's 1994 record. The Bears won with 97 points, Westfield State was second at 78.5 points and Eastern Connecticut was third with 42.

Also winning events for Coast Guard were Ben Hannon (200), Nicholas Foster (3000), Jordan Lee (800), James Martin (mile) and Thomas Bondurant (weight throw). Coast Guard's 4x800 relay team of Zack Kearney, Ryan Hub, Martin and Lee also won.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments