The Day, website, weeklies win numerous journalism awards

Boston - The Day,, the Times weeklies and Shore Publishing all won awards Saturday in the New England Better Newspaper Competition ceremonies, held despite the city being officially closed down by blizzard conditions.

Together the daily newspaper, the website and both stables of weekly community newspapers took home awards for reporting, design, photography, multimedia, promotion and advertising. The Day was third in its circulation class of New England dailies for General Excellence and was judged best overall website.

The awards announcements culminate the annual winter meeting of the New England Newspaper & Press Association. During the two-day convention The Day's publisher and president, Gary Farrugia, was elected president of NENPA and former Editorial Page Editor Morgan McGinley was installed in the New England Journalism Hall of Fame.

Special recognition went to Peter Huoppi, Rick Koster and Alex Nunes, who won first place in the Innovator's Award category for the Live Lunchbreak concert series webcast on Thursdays at noon on

Daniel Williams of The Day took first place for digital strategy excellence for his consumer business model for the website and the newspaper. In connection with that project, Annie Sharples, Emily MacCoy and Julia Balfour won first prize for audience building promotion.

For its overall website and for overall mobile application, took two first prizes, with Jennifer Sammons and Joe Ruggeri winning the honors for the mobile application introduced in 2012. The staff won third place prizes for website design and website interactivity and engagement.

Three designers in the advertising department of The Day swept the best designer category for all daily newspapers: first, MacCoy; second, Barbara Dunn; and third, Sharples. In the weekly class, Jennifer Corthell and Julie Eckart of The Source in Madison took second and third.

Claire Bessette won first prize for investigative reporting for her stories revealing questionable real estate practices by a Norwich businessman, eventually prompting a police investigation and prosecution. Other first place awards went to Judy Benson, for environmental reporting; and to the staff for the special section commemorating the 200th anniversary of the War of 1812.

Awards in digital publishing categories included first place prizes for Huoppi for news video and sports video; first and second places for Huoppi and Nunes, respectively, for entertainment video; and second and third places for Huoppi for feature videos. Tim Martin won a third place prize for photo slideshow.

Second place awards went to Joe Wojtas for education reporting; to Koster and Huoppi for health reporting; to the staff of The Day for history reporting in the special section on the War of 1812; and to Jenna Cho, Bessette and Wojtas for spot news story, on Tropical Storm Irene; and Julianne Hanckel for a local personality profile in the Thames River Times.

Third place awards went to JC Reindl for government reporting; Jennifer McDermott, Sasha Goldstein, Jeff Johnson, Chuck Potter, Kristina Dorsey, Karen Florin and Benson for human interest feature; Kathleen Edgecomb, Lee Howard and Wojtas for local elections coverage; Benson for science and technology reporting; Milton Moore for design of a business page or section; Marisa Nadolny and Maria Reagan for food page or section; Jill Blanchette for front page design; and the staff of The Day for overall design and presentation.

Sean D. Elliot won first and third prizes for feature photo and Dana Jensen won a first prize for sports photo.

Meredith Crawford of the Harbor News in Clinton won second prize for living page or section in a weekly publication. The Guilford Courier staff won second place for newspaper designed advertising insert in the weekly class and The Sound of Branford won third place for printed ad supplement/ special section.

Members of The Day's advertising, circulation and promotion teams took awards in a variety of areas. In the category of advertiser campaign, MacCoy won second prize and Dunn took third. For local color advertisement, Sharples took first prize and Kathy Archambault won second. Archambault also won first and third prizes for automotive display ad and a third place award for most creative use of small print space.

MacCoy won first and third prizes for real estate display ads and second place for events. Dunn won first and third places for best idea for generating ad revenue and first prize for advertising sales media kit. McCoy and Heidi Toala won first place for multimedia campaign.

The staff won a second prize for themed, bannered or sponsored ad page and first prize for printed ad supplement or special section.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments