In East Lyme against Formica, no Democratic candidate yet

East Lyme - The Democratic Town Committee endorsed three candidates for Board of Selectmen seats at Thursday's caucus but did not put forward a candidate for first selectman.

The Democrats endorsed incumbent selectmen Rose Ann Hardy and Robert Wilson, as well as Daniel R. Cunningham, a local attorney and Niantic Rotary Club president.

Joseph Anthony Arcarese, Candice D. Carlson, William Theodore Koch III, and Carolyn R. Nee received endorsements for the Board of Education. Nee and Carlson currently serve on the board.

Former First Selectwoman Beth Hogan and Barbara Senges-Murphy were nominated for seats on the Board of Finance.

The slate of candidates also includes Abraham I. Fischer and Joan C. Schwartz for the Board of Assessment Appeals; Merrill S. Mazzella for town treasurer; Rosanna Louis Carabelas for town clerk; Francine Ellen Schwartz and Anne Langley Thurlow for Planning Commission; and Joyce D. Schmidt, Alvin I. Sher, William Dwyer (alternate) and Peter Joseph Lukas (alternate) for Zoning Commission.

The committee voted to allow its executive board to make appointments after the caucus for any positions currently without candidates - the positions of first selectman and tax collector.

Committee Chairman Anthony Attanasio told attendees that he would look into how long the committee has after the caucus to endorse a candidate.

"We'll be prepared if someone steps forward, particularly for first selectman, if anyone has someone in mind," he said.

First Selectman Paul Formica, a Republican elected in 2007, announced last week that he intends to run for a fourth term.

The Republican Town Committee will endorse its candidates on Monday.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments