Democrats, Republicans nominate full slates for New London City Council races

Editor's Note: This corrects an earlier version.

New London - The Democratic and Republican parties each nominated a full slate of seven candidates to run for seats on the City Council at caucuses Tuesday at the New London Senior Center.

Democrats endorsed seven candidates for the Board of Education and the Republicans endorsed four.

Republicans this year will run without Adam Sprecace, the lone Republican council member who has served three terms on the council. In an emotional address to his committee, Sprecace said it was not an easy decision that he spent months weighing. In the end, he said he wanted more time to spend with his family.

"It's not goodbye, it's see you later," Sprecace told fellow Republicans.

Sitting council member Marie Friess-McSparran, a Democrat who failed to gain a nomination from her party, instead gained a last-minute endorsement and nomination from Republicans.

Along with McSparran, Republicans nominated Bill Vogel, Dennis Downing, Katelin Teel, former Bozrah First Selectman Keith Robbins, Mike Doyle and Gordon Videll.

"We think it's a fantastic slate and shows we're willing to reach outside the party to get the best candidates," said Republican Town Committee Chairman Bill Vogel.

Democrats, following an impassioned plea for unity in the party from Mayor Daryl Justin Finizio, chose a mix of current council members and newcomers to run for city council.

Council members Michael Passero, the Rev. Wade Hyslop and Anthony Nolan all gained nominations. Passero, the council president, is seeking his third term on the council. They will be joined in the race by Efrain Dominguez Jr., retired city clerk Michael Tranchida, Laura Natusch, and Erica Richardson.

Bill Satti, the Democratic Town Committee chairman, said the Democratic slate is filled with longtime residents, volunteers and civic-minded residents, "who are looking for a chance to give back to the city."

For the Board of Education, Democrats nominated Margaret Curtin, Reona Dyess, Robert Funk, Scott Garbini, Elizabeth Garcia-Gonzalez, Sylvia Potter and Arcelis Vazquez-Haye.

Republicans nominated Mirna Martinez, Jason Catala, Casey Giesing and Ian Thomas to run for seats on the school board.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments