63 honored at Holland Club ceremony

Groton - U.S. Submarine Veterans Inc. Groton Base held a Holland Club ceremony on June 5 at the Naval Submarine Base to honor 63 members who qualified in submarines in 1960 or earlier.

The Holland Club is an exclusive group within the Subvets organization that recognizes members who reach the milestone of a minimum of 50 years qualified in submarines.

Forty out of the 63 members being recognized were present, along with more than 400 family members, friends, current club members and active-duty personnel. Of the group, one member, Fred J. Pando, of Florida, qualified in 1942, and the rest qualified between 1952 and 1960. Their ranks ranged from seaman to captain, and their qualification boats ranged from the USS Bass (SS 164) to the USS Scorpion (SSN 589).

There has never been such a large group put into the Holland Club at one time. The biographical information for each man was read as pictures of his qualification boat and personal pictures from their time in the service flashed on the screen. They were given congratulatory letters from top submarine officials and personally congratulated by the commander of Submarine Group Two and the Command Master Chief.

The group was surprised by the unveiling of the latest float for Subvets Groton Base, a replica of USS Holland (SS-1), the first submarine purchased by the Navy. The model was designed and built by Groton Base Members David Bergstrom and Joseph Katushik.

The following individuals were put into the Holland Club: Wilfrid K. Anhalt, of Groton, who qualified in 1948; Robert Dexter Armstrong, of Alexandria, Va., who qualified in 1960; Charley Bates, of Old Saybrook, 1960; David E. Boe, of Rockport, Texas, 1960; Harold G. Bushar, of Camp Hill, Pa., 1960; Orville Campbell, of Lisbon, 1960; Frank J. Chesky Jr., of Bristol, 1960; Bob Christina, of New London, 1960; Thomas R Connors, of Gales Ferry, 1960; Michel C. Cooper, of Groton, 1960; Carl E. Dahlman, of Ledyard, 1960; Kenneth Dugas, of Plainfield, 1960; and Floyd Evans, of Gales Ferry, 1960.

Also, Stan Farmer, of Deering, N.H., 1960; Charlie Fenick, of Niantic, 1960; Anthony P. Ferrigno Sr., of South Windsor, 1951; Richard E. French, of Sequim, Wash., 1960; James H. Gentry, of Oviedo, Fla., 1960; Curtis V. Godfrey, of Dallas, Texas, 1960; Barry R. Gran, of Cottonwood, Ariz., 1960; Donald G. Gunn, of Groton, 1960; Jack Haddock, of East Hampton, 1960; William Haines, of Dania Beach. Fla. 1960; Robert E. Hall, of Ledyard, 1960; Herb Halpern, of Cape Coral, Fla., 1960; Thomas Harvey, of Gales Ferry, 1960; Herbert H Hawes, of Brooklyn, 1960; and Joseph W. Hegyi, of Crown Point, Ind., 1960.

Norman Heller, of Sun City, Calif., 1955; Obediah P. Hill, of Gales Ferry, 1960; John Howard, of Ledyard, 1956; Dell A. Howse, of Cullman, Ala., 1960; Ronald A. Karpius, of Brattleboro, Vt., 1960; Paul F. Kelley, of Warwick R.I., 1959; Steven J. Kelley, of East Lyme, 1960; Martin C. Kichar, of Beacon Falls, 1960; Stephen G. Koontz, of Eden, N.C., 1959; Ray Margiano, of Marietta, Ga., 1960; James L. McCleer, of New London, 1960; Arnold L. Miliefsky, of Springfield, Mass., 1960; Manny Misarski, of Bozrah, 1959; James Mugavero, of Quaker Hill, 1960; and Kevin O'Connor, of Niantic, 1960.

James H. Page, of Essex, N.Y., 1960; Fred James Pando, of Melbourne, Fla., 1942; Ralph D. Pelletier, of Panacea, Fla., 1956; Terrence W. Pendergast, of Preston, 1960; John D. Peters, of Aiea, Hawaii, 1960; Kenneth Pitman, of Manchester, N.H., 1960; Arthur Rasimas, of Newington, 1957; G. Wayne Roache, of Norwich, 1960; James D. Rohen, of Grand Rapids, Mich., 1960; Herman K. Ruhlman, of Exeter, R.I., 1954; Alan L Stalb, of Windsor, 1960; Raymond W. Stanis, of Plainfield, 1960; Merrill (Cotton) Talbott, of Mandeville, La., 1960; T. William Vormbrock, of Griswold, 1960; Richard Washington, of Guilford, Maine, 1952; Thomas D. West, of Ridge Manor, Fla., 1960; Walter Whittingslow, of Tolland, 1960; Thomas Winnard Jr., of North Scituate, R.I., 1960; John I. Wynn, of Niantic, 1960; and Michael Yacovino, of Canton, 1960.

For additional information about the Groton Base, contact John Carcioppolo at commander@subvetsgroton.org, or call (860) 514-7064.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments