Local colleges: Conn's Schroff named NESCAC Player of the Year in volleyball

New London - Connecticut College's Rachel Schroff, a senior right side hitter, was named New England Small College Athletic Conference Player of the Year in volleyball on Wednessday in a voting of the league's coaches.

Schroff, who also earned All-NESCAC honors for the first time in her career, played a major role in leading the Camels to the championship game of the NESCAC tourney and an at-large bid into the NCAA Division III tournament. Conn plays host to Framingham State in the first round on Friday at 8 p.m.

Schroff led the NESCAC with 3.42 kills per set, while ranking second with a .312 hitting percentage. She also posted 42 service aces. She was joined on the All-NESCAC first team by classmate Katie Ketcham, who was also honored for the first time in her career. The senior setter led the league in assists, averaging 10.40 per set.

In addition Conn freshman Caroline Martin became the second player in program history to earn NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors and coach Josh Edmed was named Coach of the Year.

Martin, an outside hitter who also earned All-NESCAC second-team honors, ranked second in the league with 3.35 kills per set, while leading the conference with 53 service aces. Martin was also effective on the defensive side of the ball, posting 3.28 digs per set and 28 blocks. Caitlin Tomaska was the Camels' first Rookie of the Year in 2005.

Edmed has an overall record of 186-109 in 11 seasons at Conn. The Camels take a 24-3 record into the NCAA tourney and also hosted the NESCAC tournament for the first time after earning the No. 1 seed.

In other college honors:

• Conn College's Andrea Hoisington, a junior defender, was a second-team All-NESCAC selection in field hockey.

• Coast Guard Academy placed six cadet-athletes on the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference Academic All-Conference teams.

The women's soccer team had three players, juniors Kristen Euchler (Mechanical Engineering), Cassie Hawley (Mechanical Engineering), and Judy Hooymans (Electrical Engineering) named to the team. Euchler and Hooymans were named All-Academic for the second consecutive season, while Hawley was named to the team for the first time.

Juniors Joe Bodzewski (Civil Engineering) and Nate Borders (Government) from the men's soccer team were each named to the team for the second consecutive season while sophomore Leigh Anne Brazier (Mechanical Engineering) was named to the volleyball team for the first time.

Honorees must have met the following criteria: earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5/4.0 scale or 4.35/5.0 scale after the 2012 spring semester, achieved second year academic status at his institution, and been a member of the varsity team for the entire season.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments