State Open wrestling matchups

Following are opening-round pairings for local wrestlers in the State Open wrestling tournament, which will be held today and Saturday at the Floyd Lewis Athletic Center in New Haven (see schedule below):

106 pounds - Derek Schultz (Ledyard) vs. Moonis Ansari (Gilbert); Matt Dowler (St. Bernard) vs. Christian Andrade (Somers).

113 - Rob Drury (Ledyard) vs. Jose Marroquin (Stamford); Joe Rainville (Montville) vs. Jacob Pouliot (Foran); Lyiam Mathis (Old Lyme) vs. Chris Oyola (Platt); Kareem Small (East Lyme) received bye; Brentt Smith (Waterford) received bye.

120 - Devon MarcAurele (Ledyard) received bye.

126 - Mike Commander (New London) vs. Conor Caffrey (South Windsor); Tom Wynosky (Montville) vs. Jeremy Sherman (Staples).

132 - Jake Caskey (Montville) received bye; Matt Jones (Ledyard) vs. Brian Goncalves (Newington).

138 - Justin Lindblom (Waterford) vs. Jacob Jones (Glastonbury); Justin Timberlake (Ledyard) vs. Joseph Adams (Goodwin Tech).

145 - Spencer Sgandurra (Waterford) vs. Dakota Fleming (Windham); Sri Louis (New London) vs. Mike Rose (Westbrook/Old Saybrook); Tyler Courter (NFA) vs. Logan Smith (Gilbert).

152 - Brandon Finney (Ledyard) received bye; Nick Rasmussen (New London) vs. Anthony Ryan (Pomperaug); Dillon McCarthy (Waterford) vs. Jacob Grasis (Middletown).

160 - Jacob Schmalz (Montville) vs. Otto Velez (Masuk); Edgar Charles (NFA) vs. Glenn Pierce (Bristol Central); Caile Johnson (Ledyard) received bye; Jordan Kenyon (Fitch) vs. Richard Jarnot (East Windsor).

170 - Ryan Wade (Ledyard) received bye.

182 - Colin Grim (Ledyard received bye.

195 - John Crooks (NFA) vs. Salvatore Longo (Masuk).

220 - Ben Morales (Ledyard) received bye.

285 - Kevin McDonald (Ledyard) vs. Andres Del Valle (Newington); Ryan Murtha (Montville) received bye.

Schedule (subject to change)

Today - First round, 4:30 p.m.; second round, 6:15 p.m.; consolation first round, 8 p.m.

Saturday - Championship quarterfinals, consolation second round, 10 a.m.; consolation third round, noon; championship semifinals, consolation quarterfinals, 1:30 p.m.; consolation semifinals, 3:30 p.m.; consolation finals (third and fifth place), 4:45 p.m.; championship finals, 6:15 p.m.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments