Registration deadlines approaching for municipal elections

Secretary of the State Denise Merrill is reminding eligible voters in 13 Connecticut communities, including the City of Groton, that the deadlines to register to vote in the May 6 municipal elections are approaching.

The deadline to register to vote by mail is Monday, and the in-person voter registration deadline is April 29.

"Important decisions are being made in towns across the state of Connecticut, and by registering to vote town residents can have a say in who leads their community," said Merrill, Connecticut's chief elections official.

Polls will open from 6 a.m. until 8 p.m. for the May 6 elections in the following communities: the towns of Andover, Bethany, Union and Woodbridge, and the Boroughs of Litchfield, Newtown, Stonington, Bantam (Litchfield), Danielson (Killingly), Fenwick (Old Saybrook), Jewett City (Griswold), Woodmont (Milford) and the City of Groton.

The majority of Connecticut's municipalities will hold primaries if necessary on Sept. 10 and a general election for municipal candidates on Nov. 5.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments