Local Roundup: Koczajowski earns 400th win as CGA softball splits with ECSU

New London - Freshman pitcher Kristine Kahl held Eastern Connecticut State University to one run on four hits in the first game of a doubleheader on Thursday, as the Coast Guard Academy softball team won 3-1.

Eastern won the second game 8-2, getting two hits each from Waterford graduates Mattie Brett and Alyssa Hancock and the win from Waterford's Erin Miller (9-2).

Coast Guard's Jessie Richardson was 5-for-8 in the split, the final tuneup for the Bears (21-14) headed into Saturday's New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference tournament game against Babson.

In addition, Bears' coach Donna Koczajowski picked up her 400th career victory with the game one win, making her 400-234-1 in 16 seasons.

Coast Guard employed an interesting strategy, intentionally walking Mystic's Arielle Cooper seven times in the doubleheader. Cooper, an All-America candidate, was hitting .598 headed into the game with a program record 15 home runs and 41 RBI.

Eastern is 24-10.

Coast Guard scored all three runs in the fourth inning of the first game, getting RBI singles by Stacia Sarwinski, Richardson and Erin Lisko for the 3-0 lead.

In other games:

• UConn hit four home runs and beat Albany 10-6. Kim Silva, Emily O'Donnell, Jacklyn Dubois and Valerie Sadowl homered and Lexi Gifford was 3-for-3 for the Huskies (23-22).

• Mitchell College was swept in a NECC doubleheader with Daniel Webster, losing the opener 13-7 and the second game 2-1.

Bridget Thomson and Shannon O'Neil each had two hits and drove in two runs for Mitchell (9-23, 6-10).

Men's tennis

• Mitchell College beat Lesley 6-3 Wednesday in the NECC semifinals. The Mariners (8-5) will play at Regis for the title at 1 p.m. Saturday. Mitchell has won the last four NECC titles. Zachary Simmons, Randy Coons and Graham Cavanaugh were all winners in singles and doubles for Mitchell.

Boys' golf

• Dinkar Ahula of East Lyme tied for medalist honors, helping the Vikings to a 6-1 win over previously unbeaten Fitch in an Eastern Connecticut Conference Large Division match. Corey Jones of Fitch (4-1, 2-1) shared medalist honors with a 4-over-par 40. Connor Callaghan, Drew Bradley and Zach Kosakowski also won matches for East Lyme (6-1, 5-0).

• Wheeler beat St. Bernard 6-1 in an ECC Small Division match. Tyler Primett, Peyton Mulhern, Max Reck and Jacob Umphlett won matches for the Lions (1-4, 1-2). Dylan Julian of St. Bernard (0-3, 0-2) was the medalist with a 46.

• Alex Valdes of Norwich Tech was the medalist as he led the Warriors to a 211-225 win over Putnam in the Constitution State Conference. Valdes shot a 10-over-par 46, Ackens King had a 49 and Josh Gilot shot a 50 for Norwich Tech (4-2, 4-2).

• Steve Robarge and Trevor Hutchinson led Grasso Tech to a 185-198 CSC win over Ellis Tech. Robarge took medalist honors with a 37 and Hutchinson shot a 38.

• Montville lost to Tourtellotte 7-0 in the ECC Small Division. Ben Reed shot a 40 to lead Montville (3-2, 2-1).

• Stonington beat Plainfield 7-0 in an ECC Medium Division match. Sam Ognisty was the medalist with a 3-over-par 39, and Chris Bovino, Adrian DePietro, Joel Nelson and Rachel Shaw also won their matches for Stonington (4-1, 3-1).

Girls' golf

• NFA defeated East Lyme 241-251 at Old Lyme Country Club as the Wildcats' Katie Strickland and the Vikings' Kyla Henry each shot 53 to share medalist honors.

Girls' tennis

• Stonington players dropped just three games in the entire match, as the Bears topped NFA 7-0. Annika Burgess, Chloe Slater and Caroline and Mollie Kam each won singles matches, while Emily Buxton and Hannah Fabianski won at No. 1 doubles. Stonington is 8-0, NFA 3-4.

Boys' tennis

• Stonington beat NFA 6-1. John Skogerboe, Alan Carroll and Avery Oefinger won singles matches for Stonington (5-2) and Kyle Hagedorn, Mitchell Edwards, Avish Patel, John Dong, Ryan Sealy and Savy Meach combined to sweep doubles play. Zach Peter won his match for NFA (4-3).


• Old Lyme's girls' varsity eight came in first in a race at Rogers Lake on Wednesday against East Lyme and E.O. Smith. The winning boat finished in 6 minutes, 24 seconds. Members of the team were Hannah Paynter, Arielle Sherman-Golembeski, Honor Clements, Isabelle Foster, Megan Moriarty, Hannah Wilsewski, Megan Astely, Kaitlin Kolar and coxswain Elliott Mueller.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments