CIAC to honor senior scholar-athletes

The CIAC will honor 340 senior student athletes during its 30th annual Connecticut High School Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Sunday at the AquaTurf Club in Southington.

Wilton's Kristine Lilly, a former member of the United States World Cup and Olympic gold medal-winning women's soccer team, will be the keynote speaker at the event, which begins at 5 p.m. and will be streamed live at

The scholar-athlete program annually recognizes two high school seniors - one boy and one girl - from each school who have combined academic and athletic excellence with high levls of integrity, self-discipline and courage.

The following local scholar-athletes will be honored - East Lyme: Lindsay Schneider, Ben Ostrowski; Fitch: Christina Szczesny, Mike Semancik; Grasso Tech: Catherine Nowakowski, Connor Jackson; Ledyard: Kylie Fustini, Anthony Saccone; Montville: Rachael Orbe, Paul Hanrahan; New London: Tathiana Jean-Baptiste, Brayan Mora; Norwich Free Academy: Erin Schaeffer, Joe Paparelli; Norwich Tech: Gabrielle Tudisca, Nicholas Backus; Old Lyme: Agatha Forstein, George Logan; St. Bernard: Grace Kirkpatrick, Ben Whewell; Stonington: Mollie Kam, Zachary Goldberg; Waterford: Megan O'Malley, Elliott Diana; Wheeler: Taylor Mathwich, Jacob Sylvestre.

- Day Staff Reports


Loading comments...
Hide Comments