AAC women's tourney will be at Mohegan Sun

The Mohegan Sun Arena will host the inaugural American Athletic Conference women's basketball tournament for the 2013-14 season.

The conference made the announcement on Monday.

"We look forward to this partnership," said AAC commissioner Mike Aresco in a released statement. "Mohegan Sun Arena offers our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best of many things a world-class facility, a great destination and committed management.

"We feel that being at Mohegan Sun will enhance an already very successful women's tournament experience."

The tournament will run from March 7 through March 10 at the Mohegan Sun Arena, which seats 10,000 and is the home to the WNBA's Connecticut Sun.

"We could not be more pleased to have been selected as the site of the American Athletic Conference Women's Basketball Championship," said Mitchell Etess, CEO of the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority. "We believe we are the absolute best location for this tournament.

"Mohegan Sun has a long history of producing world-class events and we will work with the Conference to create an experience that is truly memorable for not only the student-athletes and coaches, but for each and every person who attends."

Previously held at the XL Center in Hartford for the past nine years, the Big East women's championship was the nation's attendance leader for nine straight years. UConn won the tournament title in 2013 and went on to capture the national championship.

"I am thrilled that The American and the Mohegan Sun Arena have entered into an agreement to host our women's basketball championship," said UConn coach Geno Auriemma. "The XL Center has served as a terrific place to hold a league championship since 2004 and continues to be an important partner for UConn.

"Mohegan Sun Arena also has a great reputation and an extensive track record of hosting first-class events. I know this venue will provide an enjoyable experience for the teams and fans alike during the 2014 American Championship."

All 10 teams -- UConn, Louisville, Rutgers, South Florida, Central Florida, Memphis, Southern Methodist University, Houston, Temple, Cincinnati -- will participate in the conference tournament, with the champion earning an NCAA automatic berth.

Tournament seedings will based on regular season finishes. The top four seeds will earn byes to the quarterfinals.

The conference will lose Louisville and Rutgers after the 2013-14 season and add East Carolina University, Tulane and Tulsa as full-time members.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments