Waterford Republicans approve candidates for fall elections

Waterford - The Waterford Republican Caucus met Monday evening and unanimously approved its slate of candidates for the Nov. 5 municipal election.

The Board of Selectmen election will not be held this fall because the term for members has been increased from two to four years.

Republicans are in the majority here and control the Board of Education and Board of Finance. They also control the Representative Town Meeting but Republican Town Committee Chairwoman Kathleen McCarty said the race for RTM would be a close race.

Board of Finance Chairman Ronald R. Fedor said candidates should attend all the town meetings to be prepared for upset voters' questions.

"I think anyone who is an incumbent is going to have a little bit of an uphill fight because there is a bit of disgruntlement in the population because of what is going on with taxes," Fedor said. "People point to East Lyme and say how come our mill rate is higher than East Lyme's, well wait until they start building their schools and we will see what happens."

The caucus also endorsed Kathleen McCarty and Kenneth Kirkman for the Board of Education and Norman G. Glidden, Ronald R. Fedor and Mark D. Wiggins for the Board of Finance.

Endorsed for the Zoning Board of Appeals were E. Peter Bendfeldt, Barbara Panciera and Francisco J. Ribas for four-year terms and Elizabeth M. Yother for an alternate term. The caucus also endorsed Richard A. Lacombe Sr. for the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Endorsed for the Representative Town Meeting were Timothy Condon, Craig Merriman and Janet Smith in District 1; Michael J. Hannan and William Auwood in District 2; Kimberly A. Alfultis, Steven D. Garvin, Richard F. Muckle and Valerie A. Muckle in District 3 and Robert J. Brule, Thomas J. Dembek, Leon Goss and Brian F. Lynch in District 4.

- Johanna Somers


Loading comments...
Hide Comments