Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments elects officers

Kevin Lyden, the first selectman of Salem, will serve as the new chairman of the Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments.

The council, which represents the region's municipalities and tribal nations, elected at Wednesday's meeting the full slate of officers recommended last month by its nominating committee.

Bozrah First Selectman William Ballinger will act as vice chairman of the executive committee for 2013-14. Groton City Mayor Marian Galbraith will serve as treasurer, and Montville Mayor Ronald McDaniel will serve as secretary.

East Lyme First Selectman Paul Formica, who served as chairman over the past year, will now act as a representative-at-large on the executive committee along with Groton Town Manager Mark Oefinger.

Lyden gave Formica a plaque Wednesday on behalf of the council in recognition of his outstanding service as chairman over the past year.

— Kimberly Drelich


Loading comments...
Hide Comments