YOUR 2013 Walter Camp All-Connecticut team, award winners, and nominees


The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced its All-Connecticut Team on Thursday as well as its the Lifetime Achievement Award winner and Player and Coach of the Year nominees.

YOUR 2013 All-Connecticut Team is:


Quarterback: Stephen Barmore, Southington.

Running back: Arkeel Newsome, Ansonia; Ervin Philips, West Haven.

Wide receiver: Alex Jamele, Southington; Nick Weissauer, Foran.

Tight end: Julian Dunn, Newtown.

Offensive line: Steve Hashemi, St. Joseph; Ryan Hovan, Ansonia; Ryan McKenna, New Canaan; Colin McKeown, Fairfield Warde; John Tondalo, North Haven.


Defensive line: Connor Buck, New Canaan; Calvin Daniels, Bethel; Mark Evanchick, Darien; Zach Maxwell, Southington.

Linebacker: Nick Crowle, Fairfield Prep; Cole Harris, New Canaan; Ethan Suraci, North Haven.

Defensive back: Harold Cooper, Hillhouse; Dario Highsmith, Middletown; Jordan Kowalski, Ledyard; Lars Pedersen, St. Joseph.


Kicker: Kyle Smick, Southington.

Punter: Daly Hebert, Darien.

Kick returner: Jack Shaban, Barlow.

The players will be recognized at the Foundation's "Breakfast of Champions" on Saturday, Jan. 11 at Anthony's Ocean View in New Haven. The event begins at 9 a.m. and be broadcast live at

CIAC Class S champion Ansonia, the Foundation's Team of the Year, will be honored as well as the other three state champions — Southington (Class LL), New Canaan (Class L), and St. Joseph (Class M).

Westhill senior Evan Skoparantzos will receive the "UCAN Inspire Award." Skoparantzos, a tight end-defensive end, is a cancer survivor and was profiled by WFSB's John Holt in November.

Former New London head coach Jim Buonocore will be presented the Foundation's Lifetime Achievement Award. Buonocore coached the Whalers to four CIAC state titles and had a 209-94-8 record. He is currently an assistant for his son, Jim, the head coach at Ledyard.

The Foundation will also announce its Player of the Year and Coach of the Year at its breakfast. The nominees are:

Player of the Year: Barmore, Highsmith, Newsome, and Philips.

Coach of the Year: Tom Brockett, Ansonia; Mike Drury, Southington; and Lou Marinelli, New Canaan.

The breakfast is part of the Foundation's weekend extravaganza. Ansonia will be recognized at its national awards banquet that night. The Foundation will also honor its All-American team and Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, its Player of the Year.

Three others will be feted – former Notre Dame and Washington Redskins quarterback Joe Theismann (Distinguished American), former Penn State and Oakland Raider standout lineman Matt Millen (Man of the Year), and former North Carolina All-American Ken Huff (Alumnus of the Year).

Thanks for reading. More later.

Thank you. Drive thru....

Reader Comments