83 new state troopers graduate on Thursday

Five former New London police officers will be among the 83 graduates of the Connecticut State Police Academy being recognized today at an 11 a.m. graduation ceremony at the Jorgensen Auditorium at the University of Connecticut in Storrs.

Gov. Dannel P. Malloy is scheduled to be the keynote speaker in a ceremony presided over by Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection Commissioner Reuben Bradford and State Police Commander Col. Danny R. Stebbins. Bradford, who retires on Feb. 1, will be replaced by Dora B. Schriro, the current commissioner of the New York City Department of Correction.

The former New London officers graduating today include Justin Clachrie, Kyle Gorra, Adam Litwin, Trisha Marcaccio and Sarah Starkey, according to the local police union. Marcaccio was more recently an officer in East Lyme.

Members of the 123rd Training Troop will be reporting to state police troops across the state to complete field training. Their assignments have not yet been released publicly.

Police said they plan to release a full list of graduates on Thursday at www.ct.gov/despp.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments