New musicals in the works at Goodspeed

Forty-six established and emerging writers, composers and lyricists have converged at the Goodspeed Musicals campus in East Haddam to participate in the Johnny Mercer Writers Colony, which kicked off Jan. 21.

The Johnny Mercer Writers Colony at Goodspeed is a long-term residency program devoted to musical theatre writing. For four weeks, writers will research, develop and create new musicals.

Over the course of the program, composer/lyricist Jonathan Brielle will serve as producer in residence; Michael Bush serves again as dramaturge; and this year, Clifford Lee Johnson III will join as resident dramaturge.

The 2014 participating writing teams, representing nearly 30 new musicals, are Marc Acito, Tim Acito, Jeff Bienstock, Scott Burkell, Michael Cooper, Bobby Cronin, Andrea Daly, Elizabeth Davis, Ty Defoe, Wade Dooley, Darcy Fowler, Jenny Giering, Adam Gwon, Laura Harrington, Leanna Renne Hieber, Dave Holstein, Joe Iconis, Kait Kerrigan, Barry Kleinbort, Lourds Lane, Victor Lesniewski, Nicholas Roman Lewis, Paul Loesel, Brian Lowdermilk, Stacey Luftig, Jon Marans, Tom Megan, Rebekah Melocik, Peter Mills, Ryan Scott Oliver, Phillip Palmer, Eric Price, Jennie Redling, Cara Reichel, Will Reynolds, Heather Robb, Benjamin Scheuer, Alan Schmuckler, Kenny Seymour, Joseph Thalken, Jeff Thomson, Nathan Tysen, William Wade, Jason "Sweettooth" Williams, Sam Willmott and Jacob Yandura.

The mission of the Johnny Mercer Foundation is to support the discipline of songwriting in the tradition of the Great American Songbook as exemplified by the life and work of lyricist, composer, performer, collaborator and producer Johnny Mercer.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments