Local roundup: Swimming in success, Gill wins backstroke title

Indianapolis - Sam Gill of Connecticut College was the co-champion in the men's 100-yard backstroke Friday at the NCAA Division III Championship.

Gill had a time of 47.62 along with Ross Spock of Emory University - .06 seconds off the Division III record. Gill, a senior, was second in the 100 butterfly Thursday. He is the second Conn swimmer to be a national champion, joining Kate Kovenock who won the women's 50 freestyle in 2004.

"Sam has done a great job in rising to the occasion throughout his entire Connecticut College career," Conn coach Marc Benvenuti said. "Tonight he stepped up on the biggest stage. His accomplishments are a great example of what type of success you can have in our program as a Camel Swimmer."

Conn sophomore Loring Bowen was 10th in the 100 backstroke with a time of 48.86 seconds.

Coast Guard's Christian Brindamour finished 36th in the preliminary round of the men's 100-yard backstroke. He failed to advance to the finals. Brindamour, who won the 50 freestyle title Wednesday, will compete in the 100 freestyle today.

Women's lacrosse

• Ashley Murtha scored 11 goals and had two assists as Mitchell College was a winner in its first varsity game, beating Bay Path 17-13. Alexandra Maher and Veyda McVey had two goals each and Katie McBride and Amanda Rowan also scored for the Mariners.

Women's basketball

• UConn sophomore forward Breanna Stewart has been selected as one of four finalists for the Naismith Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation's top collegiate basketball player, as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club on Friday. The fan voting component of the award's selection process will begin next week. Stewart is joined by Notre Dame's Kayla McBride, Stanford's Chiney Ogwumike and Baylor's Odyssey Sims.

Stewart, the American Athletic Conference Player of the Year, leads the top-ranked Huskies with 19.7 points per game. Five Huskies have won the Naismith Trophy, including Rebecca Lobo (1995), Sue Bird (2002), Diana Taurasi (2003), Maya Moore (2009 and 2011) and Tina Charles (2010).

H.S. track

• Bill Schwarzenbach has been named the outdoor track coach at St. Bernard School, athletic director Brendan Case announced. Schwarzenbach finished the season as the indoor track coach at St. Bernard.

CIAC championship presale

• Fans are encouraged to purchase their tickets in advance for this weekend's CIAC boys and girls' basketball championships at Mohegan Sun Arena.

Tickets are $10 for all three sessions and may be purchased at http://ciacsports.com/site/?p=3337. There isn't a surcharge using CIACSports.com, and all tickets are general admission.

The three sessions are as follows:

Session 1, today: Class L girls', No. 1 Capital Prep vs. No. 3 Weaver, 10 a.m.; Class M boys', No. 3 East Catholic vs. No. 12 Weaver, 12:30 p.m.; and, Class S girls', No. 1 St. Paul vs. No. 3 Thomaston, 3 p.m.

Session 2, today: Class LL girls', No. 2 Lauralton Hall vs. No. 4 South Windsor, 6:15 p.m.; and, Class LL boys', No. 1 Fairfield Prep vs. No. 2 Bridgeport Central, 8:15 p.m.

Sessions 3, Sunday: Class M girls', No. 5 New London vs. No. 6 Morgan, 12:30 p.m.; Class S boys', No. 3 Sacred Heart vs. No. 8 Valley Regional, 3 p.m.; and, Class L boys', No. 2 Career vs. No. 4 Windsor, 5:30 p.m.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments