H.S. tennis roundup: Waterford girls leave an imprint on history

Waterford - The Waterford High School girls' tennis team made school and league history Thursday, earning the 2014 Eastern Connecticut Conference Medium Division championship with a 4-3 victory over eight-time defending champion Stonington.

The Lancers (13-0, 7-0) snapped Stonington's 65-match win streak within the division earlier this season.

The No. 3 doubles team of Alaina Moger and Tarylnn Tone-Pah-Hote clinched the match.

"It was extremely nerve wracking, but I knew our girls could pull it out," Waterford coach Bobby Schlink said. "It feels good not to share the title and be able to win it outright."

Lauren Rahr won No. 2 singles for the Lancers before her teammates swept doubles. Katie Lewis-Jessie Hudson and Alyssa Serafino-Phoebe Lee also won in doubles.

Hannah Fabianski, Taylor Startz and Claire Morehouse won in singles for Stonington (7-3, 3-2), which had won a division title every season since 2005.

In other matches:

• Old Lyme won three of the four singles matches and beat Coginchaug 5-2 in a Shoreline Conference match. Meredith Aird, Mikayla Bellaria and Marissa Smith won their matches for Old Lyme (5-2) along with the doubles teams of Emily Brault-Hannah O'Brien and Hannah Behringer-Cooper Kotzan.


• Waterford clinched at least a share of the ECC Medium Division with a 7-0 win over Stonington. Alan Luner, Willie Dong, Shashwat Kala and Benny Dong won their matches for the Lancers (13-1, 6-0) along with the doubles teams of Adam Howard-Samson Herbert, Matthew Hausmann-Mike Castelpoggi and Evan Burdsall-Hugh Sokolski. Stonington is 7-5, 4-2.

• Brendan White won No. 1 singles in three sets and Old Lyme defeated Portland 7-0. Charlie Dahlke, Josh Krasney, Eric Pan and Jeff Zhang also won in singles for the Wildcats (14-1).

• Ledyard won three of the four singles matches and held on to beat St. Bernard 4-3. Jack Potter, Albert Miller and Brian Healy won their matches for Ledyard (7-5) along with the doubles team of Bryan Brochu and Chris West. Nick Zuczek won at No. 1 singles and the teams of Alex Zuczek-David Abraham and Chris Renaud-Zack Kuvalanka also won for St. Bernard (7-5).


Loading comments...
Hide Comments