Rocco wins twice and ties Gada with 62nd SK Modified win

Waterford - It was a another historic night for Keith Rocco at the Waterford Speedbowl.

Rocco, who began the night by capturing the 30-lap Late Model feature, ended it by winning the 35-lap Charlie Mitchell Memorial SK Modified feature Saturday. It was his 62nd career win in the division, tying him with Dennis Gada - the Speedbowl's only seven-time champion in track history - for the most all-time SK Modified wins.

Other winners were Oakdale's Wayne Burroughs Jr in the Mini Stocks, Al Stone in the Street Stocks, Seth Carlson in the NEMA midgets and Juris Kupris in the NEMA lights.

In the SK Modified feature, Rocco took control against of another Speedbowl legend, Ted Christopher, when he used a crossover move on lap 19 to get inside Christopher on turn four. Christopher finished second and Tim Jordan third.

Rocco won for the second consecutive week and eighth time this season in the Late Model division. He got by early leader Mike Sweeney Jr. with an inside pass on lap 7 and ran away after a lap 8 restart. While Rocco cruised, Vin Esposito edged Waterford's Chris Garside for second. It was Garside's first visit to the podium in the Late Model divisoin.

Burroughs ran second on the rear bumper of Groton's Doug Curry for much of the 25-lap Mini Stock race, but a yellow flag on lap-19, the first of the race, gave Burroughs the chance to line up outside of Curry for the restart. The two battled to the finish from there with mere inches between the two most of the time. Burroughs took the lead on lap 20 and another caution put Burroughs on the bottom of the track with Curry to his outside. They ran nearly even the rest of the way and Burroughs made a final move out of turn four to the checkered flag that gave him the advantage.

Curry was a close second and Groton's Ray Christian finished third.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments