Ledyard's Chadwick wins Budweiser 150 at Speedbowl

Ledyard's Tyler Chadwick won the 18th annual Budweiser Modified Nationals SK Modified 150, the headliner of the Waterford Speedbowl's Thunder on the Sound racing program Saturday night.

Other winners included Keith Rocco (Late Models), Ryan Waterman (Street Stocks), Groton's Ray Christian III (Mini Stocks), Paul Buzel (SK Light Modifieds), Mike Christopher Jr. (Legend Cars) and Paul LaPlante (Vintage Outlaw Modifieds).

Chadwick, the 2012 division champion at the Speedbowl, started 10th but remained patient as he slowing moved his way into contention just before the halfway point of the 150-lap race.

With Ted Christopher out front, a caution flag came out on lap 96 and Chadwick was able to move into second place. Rocco passed Chadwick on lap 117 and challenged Christopher, but the two came together inside between turns three and four on lap 130, spinning both cars and bring out on another caution. Chadwick's patience was rewarded as he inherited the lead while Rocco and Christopher resumed from the tail of the field. Chadwick sprinted ahead of the competition over the final dash to the finish, distancing himself while Rocco battled his way back to pass Ed Puleo for second.

Earlier in the night, Rocco captured the 30-lap Late Model feature for his 101st career victory at the Speedbowl, tying him with Don Collins for second in all-time wins. Rocco started fifth, avoided Groton's Bruce Thomas Jr., who spun across the track exiting turn four on lap 3, and then chased Vin Esposito before making a successful pass on lap 11.

Once he got past Esposito he cruised to victory.

Waterman won the 25-lap Street Stock feature, battling back from the sixth spot in a caution-free race. He eventually chased race leader Monte Gibbs, before getting past him from the inside on lap 18 and never trailing again. Gibbs wound up second and Jason Chicolas third.

Christian dominated the 25-lap Mini Stock race, starting on the pole and never relinquishing the lead in another caution free race. Garrett Denton finished second and Groton's Doug Curry, who pressured Christian early, was third.

Buzel, just 16, was a first-time winner in the track's 25-lap SK Light Modified race beating Oakdale's Randy Churchill, while Mike Christopher scored his 14th win in the 25-lap Legends Cars feature.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments