Montville mayor to chair Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments

The Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments elected a new slate of officers at its meeting Wednesday.

Montville Mayor Ronald McDaniel will be the council's new chairman. Norwich Mayor Deberey Hinchey will be the council's vice chairman, Colchester First Selectman Art Shilosky will be treasurer, and Ledyard Mayor Michael Finkelstein will be secretary.

Groton City Mayor Marian Galbraith and Groton Town Manager Mark Oefinger will serve as representatives-at-large.

Galbraith, who served as chairman this year, was presented with a plaque in appreciation for her service.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments

Stories that may interest you

Teen Talk: A time to explore many different facets

Last summer, I heard about the opportunity to take a ski patrol course. Although an avid skier, I knew little aside from the fact that becoming a ski patroller would get me a free skiing pass for the coming winter.

New London officials address concerns over proposed city offices move

About 50 residents turned up for a public forum held at 6 Shaw’s Cove to discuss the city's proposal to consolidate and relocate much of its municipal offices into that building as part of a long-term lease that is being negotiated.

UPDATED: Somers clarifies proposed state assistance efforts for Smiler's Wharf

A pending bill that would provide up to $10 million in grant money to the Town of Stonington for infrastructure and other improvements would be solely used for the proposed Smiler’s Wharf project in downtown Mystic and not for other town initiatives.

Norwich Tech senior is hands-on expert in heating, cooling

Summer Clark of Lebanon, an honors student in the heating, ventilation and air conditioning program, exudes competence in jeans, work boots and monogrammed blue work shirt with neatly rolled-up sleeves.