State Open wrestling tournament/seeding and time schedule

Following is a list of top the four seeds in each weight class, plus other local and Eastern Connecticut Conference wrestlers, for the 2019 CIAC State Open tournament, which will be held Friday and Saturday at the Floyd Little Athletic Center in New Haven (see schedule below):

106: 1. Danny Charron (Killingly); 2. Jacob Marselli (East Catholic); 3. Michael Rapuano (Xavier); 4. Mike Longo (Trumbull); Local and ECC: 5. Blake Chapman (Montville); 10. Mason Concascia (Waterford); 13. Connor Doran (Ledyard); 20. Aiden Christie (Griswold).

113: 1. Elijah Cyr (Middletown); 2. Travis Longo (Trumbull); 3. Mike Charron (Killingly); 4. Dylan Levesque (East Hampton); Local and ECC: 7. Elijah Vertefeuille (Windham); 8. Logan Smith (Waterford); 16. Tyler Arsenault (Griswold); 18. Derek Debbis (Montville).

120: 1. Braeden O'Brien (Bacon Academy); 2. Ty Finn (Simsbury); 3. Tyler Johnson (Danbury); 4. Kevin Fantoli (Windham); Local and ECC: 5. Naaji Powell-Keyton (New London); 18. Jayden Colon (Montville); 22. Cooper Morissettte (Killingly); 24. Connor DeVega (NFA).

126: 1. Ryan Jack (Danbury); 2. Angelo Folino (NW Regional); 3. John Mairano (Simsbury); 4. David Charron (Killingly); Local and ECC: 5. Quinn Bond (Montville); 14. Hermin Pomales (Windham); 16. Jackson Archer (Lyman Memorial/Windham Tech).

132: 1. Louis Bradley (Morgan); 2. Kyle Fields (Danbury); 3. Thomas Nichols (Bristol Eastern); 4. Eamon Toland Matos (Bethel); Local and ECC: 14. Dominic Renfree (NFA); 16. Tyler Miller (Ledyard); 18. Trevor Johnson (Killingly).

138: 1. Sean Johnson (Ellis Tech); 2. Justin Mastroianni (New Canaan); 3. Shamar Schand (Manchester); 4. Nicholas Barber (Gilbert); Local and ECC: 6. Eric Zane (Waterford); 7. Sam Light (Stonington); 9. Austin Robertson (Fitch); 10. Cole Dirico (Ledyard); 22. Isaac Bean (Killingly).

145: 1. Tyler Sung (New Canaan); 2. Daniel Veleas (Berlin); 3. Jacob Cardozo (Southington); 4. Marcos Rodriguez Rivera (Windham); Local and ECC: 14. Everett Minevich (East Lyme).

152: 1. Justin Marshall (Bristol Eastern); 2. Hunter Adams (Suffield/Windsor Locks); 3. Kyle Matthews (Gilbert); 4. Noah Zuckerman (Fairfield Warde); Local and ECC: 8. Ian Anderson (Montville); 9. Ryan Powers (LM/WT); 11. Theran Vanase (NFA); 14. Brayden Grim (Ledyard).

160: 1. Michael Angers (Tolland); 2. Joshua Schwartz (NW Regional); 3. Lazar Agoev (Ridgefield); 4. Sam Bergin (Simsbury); Local and ECC: 5. Dakota Gardner (Griswold); 9. Zak Navarette (Montville); 14. Jose Candia Rosales (Windham).

170: 1. Alex Smith (Gilbert); 2. Dylan Sousa (Xavier); 3. Derek Turner (Killingly); 4. Billy Carr (Southington); Local and ECC: 16. Eric Plainbull (NFA); 19. Jacob Gannotti (Waterford); 22. Cadan Odom (Griswold); 24. Adam Crawford (Ledyard).

182: 1. Jacob Commander (New London); 2. Carson LiCastri (Barlow); 3. Andrew Nanai (Greenwich); 4. Jack Cronin (Nonnewaug); Local and ECC: 7. Stephen Sims (Griswold); 20. Leonard Amara Jr. (Bacon).

195: 1. Joe Gjinaj (Warde); 2. Johnny Falco (Griswold); 3. Nolan Bannon (Foran); 4. Alec Dube (Hand); Local and ECC: 23. Zach Doiran (Montville); 24. Andrew Allen (Ledyard).

220: 1. Trindad Gonzalez (Bristol Eastern); 2. George Harrington (Staples); 3. Chris Gens (Avon); 4. Aiden Maher (Haddam-Killingworth); Local and ECC: 13. Keeano Javon Gonzalez (New London); 16. Cory Carr (Griswold); 24. Jeremiah Harshberger (Waterford).

285: 1. Henry Schrecengost (Avon); 2. Joe Zeller (Newtown); 3. Darrick Deveau (Montville); 4. Nygell Smikle (Middletown); Local and ECC: 10. Rene Bernier (Killingly); 11. Jadian Mackenzie (New London); 13. Roark Ryan (St. Bernard/Norwich Tech).

Schedule (subject to change)

Friday: First round, 3:15 p.m.; championship second round, 4:45 p.m.; championship quarterfinals and consolation first round, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday: Consolation second round, 10 a.m.; consolation third round, 11 a.m.; championship semifinals and consolation quarterfinals, 12:15 p.m.; consolation semifinals, 2:30 p.m.; championship and consolation finals, 4:30 p.m.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments

Stories that may interest you

H.S. roundup: Norwich Tech advances to CTC softball semis

Hannah Smith pitched a one-hitter with 12 strikeouts as Norwich Tech beat Wolcott Tech 3-2 in a Connecticut Technical Conference softball tournament quarterfinal on Monday.

A record day by Lewis helps NFA girls win ECC track & field title

Allyson Lewis was seeded second in the long jump at Monday's Eastern Connecticut Conference track and field championships.

NFA boys overcome some adversity to win another ECC outdoor track title

A flashback to indoor track season came about an hour before Monday's ECC outdoor track championship when Norwich Free Academy boys' coach Tom Teixeira was still on the bus.

2019 ECC award winners / lacrosse and girls' tennis

The following athletes have been selected 2019 Eastern Connecticut Conference award winners in boys' and girls' lacrosse, and girls' tennis: