Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

2019 ECC award winners / lacrosse and girls' tennis



First team — Attack: Caleb Holdridge (Waterford), James McCoy (East Lyme), Rob Swenson (East Lyme); Midfield: Kyle Jacobson (Waterford), Alex Jakubczak (East Lyme), Alec Kosinski (East Lyme); Long stick midfield: Richie Galbo (East Lyme); Short stick midfield: James Hodge (Waterford); Defense: Joe Lillis (Waterford), Austin Beebe (Fitch), Tucker Mazzulli (East Lyme); Face-off specialist: Scottie Galbo (East Lyme); Goalie: Cooper Alloway (Waterford).

Honorable mention — Attack: Mason LaForte (Waterford); Midfield: James Deichler (Fitch), Geurin Favreau (Woodstock); Defense: Daniel Benjamin (NFA); Face-off specialist: Dylan Chapel (NFA).

Sportsmanship — Aiden Paterson (East Lyme), Jack Casey (Fitch), Jayden Lame (NFA), Jackson Alloway (Waterford), Zachary Douglas (Woodstock).

Scholar-athlete — Ben Jakubczak (East Lyme), Will Miner (Fitch), John Bean (NFA), Alexander Fayan (Waterford), Gabe Geyer (Woodstock).


First team — Attack: Lucian Kronholm (Stonington), Dylan Heald (Bacon Academy), Noah Mocksfield (Bacon); Midfield: Scott Pion (St. Bernard/Wheeler), Kellen Paparella (Bacon), Matt Voiland (Bacon); Long stick midfield: Jonah McNaughton (Bacon); Short stick midfield: Seth Jones (St. Bernard/Wheeler); Defense: Emmett Brady (St. Bernard/Wheeler), Casey Hart (Bacon), Sean Newton (Bacon); Face-off specialist: Conor McCourt (Bacon); Goalie: Kyle Denker (Bacon).

Honorable mention: Midfield: Sean Ventresca (Montville), Christian Hudson (Stonington), Jason Consiglio (Bacon); Face-off specialist: Sawyer Kury (Montville), Goalie: Daniel Schroeder (St. Bernard/Wheeler).

Sportsmanship — Connor Sullivan (Bacon), Liam Mullin (Ledyard/Griswold), Ian Anderson (Montville), Zack Speirs (St. Bernard/Wheeler), Kyle Marino (Stonington).

Scholar-athlete — Matt Voiland (Bacon), Seth Hurt (Ledyard/Griswold), Zach Doiron (Montville), Burke Niles (St. Bernard/Wheeler), Sean Peglow (Stonington).




First team — Attack: Maggie O'Leary (Fitch), Zoe Pearse (Fitch), Arielle Johnson (Woodstock); Midfield: Julia Bates (East Lyme), Rita Sefransky (Fitch), Mackenzie Shrewsbury (NFA), Ivy Gelhaus (Woodstock), Emma Ciquera (Woodstock); Defense: Laura Agbayani (East Lyme), Sarah Christensen (East Lyme), Alyssa McIlquham (Fitch); Goalie: Maya Rose (East Lyme).

Sportsmanship — Daven Roberts (East Lyme), Valentina Silva (Fitch), Madison Stripling (NFA), Lauren Hovedstadt (Woodstock).

Scholar-athlete — Erin Bauman (East Lyme), Zoe Pearse (Fitch), Kali Whitford (NFA), Emma Redfield (Woodstock).


First team — Attack: Maddie Pipech (Ledyard), Hannah Lamb (Stonington), Emma Sabbadini (Stonington); Midfield: Alexis LaPerle (Ledyard), Kate Johnson (Stonington), Kathryn Logel (Stonington), Olivia Gianakos (Waterford), Grace Briggs (Waterford); Defense: Kate English (Ledyard), Madison Cassell (Stonington), Caley Holdridge (Waterford); Goalie: Nicole Tyler (Bacon Academy).

Sportsmanship — Samantha Lovering (Bacon), Kacy Medas (Ledyard), Natalia Cullen (Stonington), Ashley Brandt (Waterford).

Scholar-athlete — Olivia Guinness (Bacon), Maddie Pipech (Ledyard), Emma Sabbadini (Stonington), Grace Briggs (Waterford)


First team — Attack: Mackenzie Ullrich (Montville), Ashley Rewers (Montville), Carly Potts (St. Bernard); Midfield: Abbie Wing (Griswold), Alexis DeLucia (Montville), Maddie Gould (Montville), Bridget Feeley (St. Bernard), Gracie Anderson (Wheeler/Grasso Tech); Defense: Emma Boccarelli (Griswold), Haley Kerwin (Montville), Nadya Murphy (New London); Goalie: Cheryann Lubin (New London).

Sportsmanship — Sydney Prezkop (Griswold), Corinne West (Killingly), Megan Rewers (Montville), Mahogany Williams (New London), Payton McCauley (St. Bernard), Kelly Duarte (Wheeler/Grasso Tech).

Scholar-athlete — Allison Gasparino (Griswold), Lauren Mayotte (Killingly), Ashley Rewers (Montville), Emilia Skrabacz (New London), Adelaide Horgan (St. Bernard), Sarah Spracklin (Wheeler/Grasso Tech).




First team — Singles: Maddie Hamm (Stonington), Samantha Cote (Fitch), Mari Ruggeri (Woodstock), Mary Kathryn Taylor (East Lyme); Doubles: Amelia Caron-Cassie Onorato (Stonington), Adeline Smith-Caitlyn Sroczenski (Woodstock), Emily Zhu-Liz Beaulieu (East Lyme).

Honorable mention — Singles: Becca Pagglioli (East Lyme), Ainsley Johnstone (Stonington); Doubles: Katie Johnstone-Chloe Morehouse (Stonington).

Sportsmanship — Emily Zhu (East Lyme), Graysen Scherer (Fitch), Kaitlin Cavanaugh (NFA), Holly Foster (Stonington), Sophia Rakovan (Woodstock).

Scholar-athlete — Caroline French (East Lyme), Sneha Kumar (Fitch), Hannah Crary (NFA), Ainsley Johnstone (Stonington), Caitlyn Sroczenski (Woodstock).


First team — Singles: Sabrina Berard (Killingly), Abby Dirico (Ledyard), Cassandra Cannon (New London), Lauren O'Donnell (St. Bernard); Doubles: Angela Dielli-Anika Jannatul (Waterford), Mackenzie Chatelle-Allison Levesque (Killingly), Jessica Juoni-Jillian Rezendes (Ledyard).

Honorable mention — Singles: Autumn Brothers (Waterford), Hayley Wheeler (Waterford); Doubles: Jennifer LeBlanc-Kasey Kirchhoff (Waterford).

Sportsmanship — Mackenzie Chatelle (Killingly), Hannah Battle (Ledyard), Karea Gabriel (New London), Sarah Engel (St. Bernard), Mia Carfi (Waterford).

Scholar-athlete — Allison Levesque (Killingly), Lilia Burdo (Ledyard), Cassandra Cannon (New London), Madeleine Brady (St. Bernard), Micky Green (Waterford).


First team — Singles: Anna Slopak (NFA), Paige Raposo (NFA), Rachel Liang (Montville), Kaitlin Cavanaugh (NFA); Doubles: Kayla Heath-Kaitlyn Mackiewicz (Lyman Memorial), Natalie Dionne-Madison Minski (NFA).

Honorable mention — Singles: Amber Peterson (Windham/Windham Tech).

Sportsmanship — Abigail Boislard (Bacon Academy), Hannah Rhodes (Lyman), Michelle Kwong (Montville), Kaitlin Cavanaugh (NFA), Karen de Los Santos (Windham/Windham Tech).

Scholar-athlete — Grace Palmer (Bacon), Kayla Boone (Lyman), Rachel Liang (Montville), Hanna Crary (NFA), Dayshalee Torres (Windham/Windham Tech).


Loading comments...
Hide Comments