Support Local News.

At a moment of historic disruption and change with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the calls for social and racial justice and the upcoming local and national elections, there's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Lyden earns fifth term as first selectman

Salem — In a more than two to one ratio, incumbent First Selectman Kevin Lyden secured his seat for a fifth term, beating Democratic challenger Sue Spang 765 to 341.

Lyden said he was honored to be chosen by the taxpayers to serve the town, and he gave kudos to all residents who volunteered to run for the various boards and commissions in town.

Spang said she would have been fine with either result, and she was going to continue her work with the Recreation Commission and going back to school for graphic design.

There were a total of 1,170 votes cast this year, about a 44 percent turnout, according to Democratic Registrar of Voters Betsy Butts.

Vernon Smith, vice chair of the Planning and Zoning Commission and winner of a two-year vacancy on the commission, was at Town Hall to collect numbers to bring back to the Republican Town Committee headquarters. He said this year's turnout was higher than it has been in previous years; in 2015, 1,061 votes were cast.

Democrat Hugh McKenney, who also ran in 2015, and Republican incumbent Ed Chmielewski were elected to the Board of Selectmen with 455 and 495 votes, respectively. All five board candidates were within 100 votes of each other, with Democrat Kristina Len earning 395 votes, Republican Ron LaBonte earning 418 votes and petitioning candidate T.J. Butcher earning 413 votes. 

Republicans Sean Reith, Ryan Little, George Jackson and Chairman Mike Siebert all returned to the Board of Education alongside Democratic newcomer Tiff Cunningham. All were running uncontested, as six seats were open.

Republican incumbent Linda Flugrad was elected town clerk. Pam Henry and Cheryl Philopena, who were both running unopposed, remain as town treasurer and tax collector, respectively. Marshall Collins, George Householder, John Houchin, William Dickson, Michael Jensen and Corrine Bourgeois were elected to the Board of Finance.

Robert Green was elected to the Board of Assessment Appeals.  Margaret Caron, Eric Wenzel, John Gadbois, Vernon Smith, Diba Khan-Bureau, Terri Salas and David Miller were elected to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Michael Flugra, Denise Orsini, and Emil Casciano were elected to the Zoning Board of Appeals. Pat Aldrich and Kathy Georgian were elected to the Library Trustees.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments