Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

Montville Town Council flips to Republicans

Montville — The Town Council, held by a Democratic majority for much of the last two decades, has flipped to Republican control.

The town's Republicans, who waged a campaign urging voters to either "drain the swamp" or "keep it" if they were satisfied with the five incumbent Democrats on the Town Council, got their answer: they weren't. The Democrats, who started the night with a 5-2 majority, ceded two seats to Republicans Tom McNally and Wills Pike. Voters kept incumbent Republicans Joe Rogulski and Kathy Pollard in their seats.

Democrats failed to replace a seat formerly held by Democrats Laura Tanner with another Democrat, also losing Democratic member Chuck Longton, who was running for a fourth term.

Based on unofficial vote tallies, Democrat Tim May lost his bid for a third term on the council, losing by one vote to former Democratic mayor Joseph Jaskiewicz. That race will be subject to a recount.

Though both Jaskiewicz and May won fewer votes than Republican Ray Coggeshall, one of them will keep a seat on the council because of state minority party representation laws.

A fifth Republican seat on the council could also be subject to a recount: Jeff Rogers and James Andriote nearly tied for a seat with a one-vote difference, with Coggeshall three votes behind Andriote.

"They just wanted a change in the town, and they got it," Jaskiewicz said to a near-silent Democratic Party gathering at the Uncasville Diner Tuesday night. "It was obvious what they wanted."

The town's school board will have a new face on it in Dana Ladyga, a Republican newcomer to town politics who was the top vote-getter in the school board race.

Sandra Berardy, a veteran school board member who returned to the board to fill a vacancy after losing an election in 2013, was re-elected, as was Republican Steven Loiler, who's running for a third term, Democrat Monica Pomazon, who filled the seat left vacant in January when her husband, Todd Pomazon, died suddenly, and Republican Joseph Aquitante III, who was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board in February.

Gary Murphy, the recently retired chief of the Oakdale Fire Department and a member of the Water Pollution Control Authority, won a seat on the Board of Assessment Appeals, which considers individual appeals of the assessed values of properties in town.

Two people — Democrat John MacNeil and Republican Robert Yuchniuk — ran uncontested for two open seats on the Zoning Board of Appeals.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments