Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

Waterford Green Party wins a seat in all four RTM districts

Waterford — Members of the town's nascent Green Party won a seat in all four Representative Town Meeting districts on Tuesday, and Green Party-endorsed candidates also won seats on the school board, Board of Assessment Appeals and an alternate seat on the Zoning Board of Appeals. 

From the Green Party, Andrew Frascarelli won a seat in the RTM's District 1; Baird Welch-Collins won a seat in District 2; Joshua Steele Kelly won a seat in District 3; and Carl D'Amato won a seat in District 4.

Darcy Van Ness also won an alternate seat on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

The balance on the town's Board of Finance remained in Republican control Tuesday, with one incumbent member elected to another two-year term, and one new Republican and one new Democrat voted onto the board.

Republican Ronald Fedor was elected to a fourth term, with 17 percent of the vote. Newcomer Republican Mark Geer was elected with 16.7 percent, and former Board of Selectman candidate Glenn Patterson won with 16.5 percent.

The Board of Education swung to Democratic control, with Democrat Deborah Roselli Kelly, who was cross-endorsed by the Green Party, winning 397 votes more than the next highest vote-getter.

Democrats Greg Benoit and Joy Gaughan and Republican Chris Jones won the other three of the four contested seats.

Democrat Miriam Furey-Wagner ran unopposed for the Board of Education seat she was appointed to when Kevin Brunelle resigned last year.

A total of 22 members of the Representative Town Meeting in Waterford's four districts were elected Tuesday. Most of the incumbents running maintained their seats on the board, which serves as the town's legislative body. To see a list of the winners, visit

Democrat Michael Buscetto III was elected to the Board of Assessment Appeals. Democrat Michele Kripps, Democrat Joshua A. Friedman and Republican Anne Darling were elected to three spots on the Zoning Board of Appeals. Republican Danielle McCarty and the Green Party's Darcy Van Ness were elected to two open alternate seats on the Zoning Board of Appeals.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments