Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Salem town election winners a mix of newcomers and incumbents

Salem — A mix of new and experienced public figures will take office after Tuesday night's election, with First Selectman Kevin Lyden returning to the town's top seat for a sixth term after an uncontested race.

Republicans Ron LaBonte and Terri Salas were voted onto the Board of Selectmen, with 688 and 771 votes, respectively.

Cross-endorsed candidates Linda Flugrad and Pam Henry will return to their positions as town clerk and town treasurer, respectively. Republican Joshua Rehrig will serve as tax collector.

Republicans Hernan Salas and Skip Dickson will return to the Board of Finance, along with board alternate Maryann Casciano, also a Republican.

Democrat Jennifer Rucci and Republican LaVan Norwood were voted to the school board for full terms. Democrats Sue Spang and Tamara Morocco were reelected to fill four- and two-year vacancies.

Republican Dianne Woronik and Democrat Debra Gernhardt were reelected to the Board of Assessment Appeals.

Republicans David Miller, Vernon Smith and Thomas Reith were voted to the Planning and Zoning Commission. Republicans Jon Walsh and Carl Fontneau were elected as alternates.

Republicans Kenneth Bondi and Emil Casciano will return to the Zoning Board of Appeals alongside alternates Becky Nortz, a Democrat, and Larry Benedict, a Republican. Pam Munro, also a Republican, joins the board as an alternate.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments