Support Local News.

At a moment of historic disruption and change with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the calls for social and racial justice and the upcoming local and national elections, there's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Friends and Neighbors

Local students named Lieberman Scholars

Samantha Olson of Old Lyme and Stephanie Weber of Stonington have been named 2020 Lieberman Scholars. The Joe Lieberman Connecticut Scholarship Fund awards $1,500 scholarships to five Connecticut students to put toward their freshman year of college; the awards can be renewed for their sophomore, junior and senior years. Selection is based on academics, leadership skills and community service.

Olson, who graduated from Lyme-Old Lyme High School, is a Science Olympiad state champion who also coaches the middle school team. She is an All-American gymnast and volunteers at the Florence Griswold Museum.

Weber, who graduated from the Marine Science Magnet High School, served as vice president for her school’s National Honor Society chapter and student director for the local Rotary Youth Leadership Awards chapter.

Applications for the 2021 awards will be available in February. For more information, visit


Mystic resident receives meteorology scholarship

Olivia Keefe of Mystic has been selected as one of 21 recipients of the 2020 AMS/Naval Weather Service Association scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to rising seniors pursuing careers in atmospheric, oceanic and hydrologic sciences.

Keefe, who also received the 2019 National Weather Association Foundation Phillips Family Undergraduate Scholarship for Meteorology, is studying marine science and meteorology at the University of Miami and plans to pursue a Ph.D. to become a marine forecaster.


Groton Rotary names officers, trustees

The Groton Rotary Club recently held an induction ceremony for this year's leaders, installing Michael Whitehouse as president. Anas Tarraboisi was named vice president, Lea Doran was named treasurer, and Cindy Olsen was named secretary.

The 2020-21 Board of Trustees includes R.B. Kent, Jr., John Silsby, Richard Kent, Lian Obrey, Frank Winkler and Gary Weale.

The club meets every Tuesday at 12:15 p.m. at Baymont Inn and Suites, 360 Route 12 in Groton. For more information about the club's community service programs, visit



Friends and Neighbors is a regular feature in The Times. To contribute, email


Loading comments...
Hide Comments