Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Monday, August 15, 2022

    Nick Woviotis scholarship recipients announced

    John Kevin Zimmerman and Emma Grace Marelli, both of Waterford High School, are the co-recipients of the 38th Annual Nick Woviotis Memorial Scholarship Award. Each will receive a $2,500 cash award and $1,000 each year during their college careers, and a watch donated by Mallove Jewelers upon graduation.

    In addition, the committee has granted two one-time scholarship awards of $2,000 each to Nadya Murphy and Paytin Elise Melton, both of New London High School.

    To date, over $300,000 in scholarships have been granted and more than 90% of the recipients have received their college degrees.

    The awards will be presented at a dinner to be held on Friday, May 27, at 6:30 p.m. at the Italian Dramatic Club in New London. Tickets are $25 each.

    Prior recipients who will be receiving awards are: Mary Madeus, Jacob Tukey, Victoria Hannaford, Kevin Ruiz and Emily Smith.

    The scholarship is named for Nicholas Woviotis, who was active in the New London community in a wide variety of athletic endeavors, particularly basketball. He died at the age of 59 in 1984.

    Post your comment

    We encourage respectful comments but reserve the right to delete anything that does not contribute to an engaging dialogue. Help us moderate this thread by flagging comments that violate our guidelines. Read the commenting policy.