Support journalism that matters to you

Since COVID-19 impacts us all and we want everyone in our community to have the important information they need, we have decided to make all coronavirus related stories free to read on While we are providing free access to articles, they are not free to produce. The newsroom is working long hours to provide you the news and information you need during this health emergency. Please consider supporting our work by subscribing or donating.

National Football Foundation scholar-athletes are announced

The Southeastern Connecticut Chapter of the National Football Foundation has announced its 2019 award winners. The recipients will be honored at a banquet on Sunday, April 28 at Lake of Isles in North Stonington at 5 p.m.

The scholar-athletes begin honored are Andrew Bourguignon of Ledyard, Shane Brooks of New London, Ryan Champagne of Montville, Quinlan Gervasio of Killingly, Hunter Halford of Waterford, Nick Helbig of Fitch, Kyle Holt of Plainfield, Yianni Koutsofavas of Bacon Academy, Nathan Miller of Stonington, Kevin Pomroy of Norwich Free Academy, Stephen Sims of Griswold, Liam Whaley of East Lyme and Mark Wicke from the Coast Guard Academy.

Also being honored are Al Carbone of the Southern Connecticut Conference (person of the year), Killingly coach Chad Neal (active coach), Tim Cook of The Day (Bill Cawley media award), Leo Bawza of the Eastern Board (officials award) and Gene Ryan of Waterford (Dick North administrator award). The teams from Killingly and Plainfield will also be honored for qualifying for the state playoffs last season.

Tickets for the banquet are available from Ledyard Athletic Director Jim Buonocore at

— Day staff reports 


Loading comments...
Hide Comments