Mosqueda-Lewis, Dolson honored by Big East

UConn forward Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis looks to pass during Saturday's game against South Florida in Tampa. She was a unanimous Big East Conference first-team selection.

Hartford - UConn sophomore forward Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis was one of three players who were unanimous first-team selections to the Big East women's basketball all-star team Thursday.

Notre Dame senior guard Skylar Diggins and South Florida senior guard Andrea Smith were also unanimous picks.

UConn senior guard Kelly Faris was named the Big East Defensive Player of the Year and shared the league's most improved player award with Brittany Hrynko of DePaul. Syracuse senior guard Carmen Tyson-Thomas won the sixth man award and DePaul senior guard Anna Martin won the sportsmanship award.

The awards for top player, coach, rookie and scholar-athlete will be announced today.

Carmen Tyson-Thomas played in 15 conference games and was second on the team in scoring with 11.2 points per game. She added 6.9 rebounds per game, which was also second on the team. Playing 22.8 minutes per game despite no starts, Tyson-Thomas dished out 25 assists and grabbed 22 steals. She was second on the team with 20-made 3-pointers and shot 36 percent from the floor for the season. Tyson-Thomas is the first Syracuse player to win the Sixth Man Award since its introduction as a league award in 2007-08.

Faris was 15th in the league in rebounding with 6.5 boards per game, fourth in steals with 2.8 and her 1.8 assist-to-turnover ratio was third.

UConn junior Stefanie Dolson also made the first team and Faris made the second team. Mosqueda-Lewis leads Uconn with 17.9 points per game, Dolson averages 14.4 points and 6.7 rebounds per game and Faris leads the Huskies is steals (2.7) and assists (4.0) per game.

Junior Bria Hartley and freshman Breanna Stewart earned honorable mention and Stewart and Moriah Jefferson made the all-freshman team.

Big East women's basketball honors

Defensive Player of the Year

Kelly Faris, UConn, Sr., G

Sixth Man Award

Carmen Tyson-Thomas, Syracuse, Sr., G

Most Improved Player

Kelly Faris, UConn, Sr., G

Brittany Hrynko, DePaul, So., G

Sportsmanship Award

Anna Martin, DePaul, Sr., G

First Team

Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Jr., C; Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, UConn, So., F; Brittany Hrynko, DePaul, So., G; Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown, Sr., G; Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Jr., G; Natalie Achonwa, Notre Dame, Jr., F; Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame, Sr., G; Kayla McBride, Notre Dame, Jr., G; Nadirah McKenith, St. John's, Sr., G; Shenneika Smith, St. John's, Sr., G; Andrea Smith, South Florida, Sr., G; Kayla Alexander, Syracuse, Sr., C.

Second Team

Dayeesha Hollins, Cincinnati, R-Jr., G; Kelly Faris, UConn, Sr., G; Katherine Harry, DePaul, Sr., F; Anna Martin, DePaul, Sr. G; Antonita Slaughter, Louisville, Jr., G; Katherine Plouffe, Marquette, Jr., F; Symone Roberts, Providence, Sr., G; Brittany Morris, Seton Hall, Sr., G; Andrell Smith, South Florida, Sr., G; Laura Sweeney, Villanova, Sr., F.

Honorable Mention

Bria Hartley, UConn, Jr., G; Breanna Stewart, UConn, Fr., F; Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame, Fr., G; Brianna Kiesel, Pittsburgh, So., G; Erica Wheeler, Rutgers, Sr., G.

All-Freshman Team

Moriah Jefferson, UConn, Fr., G; Breanna Stewart, UConn, Fr., F; Chanise Jenkins, DePaul, R-Fr., G; Brooklyn Pumroy, Marquette, Fr., G; Jewell Loyd, Notre Dame, Fr., G; Aliyyah Handford, St. John's, Fr., G; Kahleah Copper, Rutgers, Fr., G; Brianna Butler, Syracuse, Fr., G; Brittney Sykes, Syracuse, Fr., G; Alisia Jenkins, South Florida, Fr., F.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments