The Day wins award for stories on Pfizer's use of H-1B visas

Business writer Lee Howard has been honored with the Theodore Driscoll Investigative Reporting award by the Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists for a series on Pfizer Inc.'s use of H-1B visas.

The judges said Howard "was able to break through corporate silence to learn how and why Pfizer was utilizing H-1B visas to bring foreign workers to Connecticut to be trained by and replace American IT employees."

Howard also received an honorable mention in general reporting, a second and honorable mention in business reporting, and a honorable mention in feature reporting.

Multimedia director Peter Huoppi finished first for his interactive graphic "Connecticut's Fallen," and second for New London's empty storefronts graphic.

Huoppi also took three awards in the video storytelling category. Along with Karin Crompton, he placed first for "The Big One: Remembering the Hurricane of 1938"; he and Rick Koster were second for a Behind the Scenes report on a haunted house; and Huoppi received a honorable mention for "One man's historic vote."

Huoppi also placed second in the online commentary category for his dog blog.

Designer Harold Hanka received a first-place award for his "Giants upset" Super Bowl layout and a honorable mention in the same category. Hanka also received a first-place award and honorable mention for his page one layouts.

Designer Milton Moore and political reporter Ted Mann took a first place for an election day page one graphic.

Defense reporter Jennifer Grogan won a first-place award in in-depth reporting for her series "Reports from a war zone." Karin Crompton and Kevin Dale were first in the investigative series category for their coverage of New London's empty storefronts.

The Day placed first in general reporting for a one-day glimpse of the region's economy, called "Reality Check." It was written by Amy Renczkowski, Brian Hallenbeck, Jenna Cho, Jennifer Grogan, Joe Wojtas, Kathleen Edgecomb, Lee Howard, Matt Clark, Megan Bard, Michael Naughton, Patricia Dadonna and Ted Mann.

Tim Martin received a first-place award for a sports photograph of a Stonington field hockey contest, was second in news photo and received two honorable mentions for feature photos.

Dana Jensen received an honorable mention in news photo.

Judy Benson received a second in feature writing and an honorable mention in in-depth reporting. Jenna Cho received an honorable mention in feature writing.

In feature series, Megan Bard and Izaskun Larraneta were second and Joe Wojtas received an honorable mention.

David Collins received an honorable mention in column writing. Editorial page editor Paul Choiniere was second in editorial writing.

Stephen Chupaska of the New London Times placed first for a column "Hey Obama supporters: Lighten Up," and for a feature "50 years downs the pike." He also was second for in-depth reporting and received an honorable mention for a column.

Marisa Nadolny, the editor of the Times Community News Group, received a first-place award for headline writing.

Elise J. Rugens placed first for a photo layout of a blessing of the bikes in the Groton Times.

Cheryl Albaine was first for a feature photo in the Mystic Times. Deborah Beckwith received an honorable mention in the same category.

Suzanne Thompson of the Montville Times finished first in arts and entertainment reporting for "The ambassador of the blues."

Jason J. Marchi of the Waterford Times was second in feature writing and Larry Kelley received an honorable mention for a sports feature in the Lyme Times.

The Guilford Courier finished first for its "Person of the Week" series. Ben Rayner of The Sound was first in investigative reporting, and Pam Johnson first for a news photo in the Guilford Courier.

Jennifer Corthell received two first-place awards for Elan magazine, one for an informational graphic and the other for page layout.

Nancy Dione of the North Haven Courier was second in feature photo and Pam Johnson of the Guilford Courier second in headline writing.

Susan Tapley of The Sound received an honorable mention in arts and entertainment writing, and Amy J. Barry of the Guilford Courier and Steven Sellers of Elan honorable mentions in feature writing.


Loading comments...
Hide Comments