Support Local News.

We are in the community, every day, covering the local news that matters to you. In 2022, we want to do more. We're planning an in-depth investigation into economic mobility in the region, starting with the availability of affordable housing. We can't do this project without your financial support.
Please support our work by donating today.

Day Newsroom

EXECUTIVE EDITOR

Cotter, Tim
Executive Editor
 (860) 701-4372
t.cotter@theday.com

MANAGING EDITORS

Larraņeta, Izaskun E.
Managing Editor
 (860) 701-4339
i.larraneta@theday.com

Virgen, Carlos
Assistant Managing Editor for Audience Development
 (860) 701-4338
c.virgen@theday.com

NEWS EDITORS

Florin, Karen
Audience Engagement Editor
 (860) 701-4217
k.florin@theday.com

Meyers, Jacinta
Night City Editor
 860-701-4341
j.meyers@theday.com

Ritter, Scott
Production Manager
 (860) 701-4388
s.ritter@theday.com

Ruddy, John
Copy Desk Chief
 (860) 701-4365
j.ruddy@theday.com

COMMUNITY EDITORS

Howard, Lee
Community Editor
 (860) 701-4356
l.howard@theday.com

Poole, Owen
Assistant Community Editor
 (860) 701-4335
o.poole@theday.com

REPORTERS

Bessette, Claire
Norwich/Preston
 (860) 701-4272
c.bessette@theday.com

Collins, David
Columnist
 (860) 701-4370
d.collins@theday.com

Hallenbeck, Brian
Business/Gaming/Tourism & Health
 (860) 701-4354
b.hallenbeck@theday.com

Hartz, Taylor
Breaking news reporter
 860-701-4273
t.hartz@theday.com

Moser, Erica
Higher education and business
 860-701-4489
e.moser@theday.com

Regan, Elizabeth
East Lyme, Old Lyme, Lyme
 860-701-4216
e.regan@theday.com

Smith, Greg
New London
 860-701-4326
g.smith@theday.com

Spinella, Sten
Politics and government
 860-853-0085
s.spinella@theday.com

Vazquez, Johana
Waterford and Montville
 860-701-4425
j.vazquez@theday.com

Wojtas, Joe
Stonington/Mystic
 (860) 701-4494
j.wojtas@theday.com

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

Dorsey, Kristina
Features Editor
 (860) 701-4318
k.dorsey@theday.com

Koster, Rick
Arts & Music Columnist/Reporter
 (860) 701-4325
r.koster@theday.com

SPORTS

Banning, Chuck
Sports Editor
 (860) 701-4441
c.banning@theday.com

Davis, Dave
Sports Wire Editor
 (860) 701-4443
d.davis@theday.com

DiMauro, Mike
Assistant Sports Editor, Columnist
 (860) 701-4391
m.dimauro@theday.com

Fulkerson, Vickie
Scholastic Sports Editor
 (860) 701-4392
v.fulkerson@theday.com

Griffen, Ned
Connecticut Sun
 (860) 701-4346
N.Griffen@theday.com

Keefe, Gavin
UConn Men’s Basketball/Football
 (860) 701-4393
g.keefe@theday.com

WEB DEVELOPMENT

Ruggeri, Joe
Web developer
 (860) 701-4227
j.ruggeri@theday.com

Photography

PHOTOGRAPHY & VISUALS

Elliot, Sean D.
Director of Photography
 (860) 701-4484
s.elliot@theday.com

Huoppi, Peter
Director of Multimedia
 (860) 701-4297
p.huoppi@theday.com

Jensen, Dana
Staff Photographer
 (860) 701-4384
d.jensen@theday.com

Gordon, Sarah
Staff photographer
 (860) 701-4384
s.gordon@theday.com

“The newspaper should be more than a business enterprise. It should also be the champion and protector of the public interest and defender of the people’s rights.”

- Theodore Bodenwein