Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Tuesday, May 28, 2024

    The Day's podcast on unsolved murders among regional winners

    Boston — The Case Unsolved podcast was among 11 first-place winners by The Day in the editorial and advertising awards presented this weekend by the New England Newspaper & Press Association.

    The podcast examined the case of Desiree Michaud, a prostitute murdered in Groton in 1984. The podcast was reported by Karen Florin, narrated by Carlos Virgen and produced by Peter Huoppi and Virgen. Timothy Cotter was the executive producer and Izaskun Larrañeta the associate producer. Subsequent cases were reported on by Lindsay Boyle and Erica Moser.

    "This is far and away the best, most compelling podcast submitted for consideration," the judge said. "It's true storytelling, drawing upon archival reporting and new interviews to tell the story of an unsolved murder in Connecticut. With high production values, strong sound design and writing, Case Unsolved is everything newspaper podcasts strive to be."

    Theday.com was recognized as Best Overall Mobile Product and Best Overall Website, with the judges finding the site attractive, clean and easy to navigate.

    Peter Huoppi was first in feature video and sports video and second in entertainment video. Tim Cook placed second in news video.

    John Ruddy was second in front page design and headline writing.

    Maria Reagan and Mary Biekert placed second for a food page on dim sum that was designed by Reagan and written by Biekert.

    The Day was second in a human interest feature story for a series on millennials who had decided to stay in Connecticut. The series was written by Mary Biekert, Julia Bergman, Erica Moser, Benjamin Kail, Mike DiMauro, Martha Shanahan and Charles Clark. Bergman also was third in the same category for a story about 48 hours on the USS John Warner.

    In advertising, Justin McCabe was named Best Ad Designer. "Justin has a great typographic sense combined with great layout skills," the judge said. Barbara Dunn finished third.

    Other first-place winners were: Mary Dolan, Best Integrated Campaign for an Advertiser; Erin Hamilton, Classified Promotion; Kara Conlon, Most Creative Use of Small Print Space; Heidi Toala, Themed Multiple Advertiser Pages, and The Day, Real Estate Display Ad.

    Other winners were: Patrick Santiague, third, Audience Building Promotion, and second, Automotive Display Ad; Conlon, second, Local Display Ad; Jessica Dyer, second and third, Most Creative Use of Small Print Space, and third, Newspaper-Sponsored Event Promotion; Dolan, second, Newspaper Designed Advertising Insert; and The Day, second and third, Digital Product Promotion to Readers, and second and third, Niche Publication.

    Other editorial winners were: David Collins, third, serious columnist; Greg Smith, third, government reporting; Steve Fagin, third in humor columnist and sports feature; and Erica Moser, third, reporting on religious issues.

    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.