Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Friday, March 01, 2024

    Sabilia, Kelly top Democratic ticket against Republicans Brule, Nazarchyk in Waterford

    Waterford — Democratic Representative Town Meeting member and former New London Mayor Beth Sabilia is teaming up with RTM member Joshua Steele Kelly to face off against Republican Selectman Rob Brule and Board of Education member Jody Nazarchyk in a contest to lead the Board of Selectmen.

    Sabilia, an attorney and Democratic Town Committee chair, and Brule, a businessman and longtime soccer coach, are vying for First Selectman Dan Steward's spot following Steward's retirement at the end of his term this year. Kelly, a former co-chair of the Waterford Green Party, is a registered Democrat who said he identifies as generally independent, while Nazarchyk is an independent.

    Sabilia said she was excited about the Democratic slate of 30 candidates for a range of offices endorsed in late July, which includes 13 women and four minorities, she noted.

    "People want to be involved and it takes some time, but it's worth it," she said.

    Republican Town Committee Chairwoman Kathleen McCarty said the recently endorsed GOP ticket features 32 candidates, a "very talented, diverse and professional team of men and women committed to maintaining a high quality of life in Waterford and for all its residents."

    Town Clerk Dave Campo and Tax Collector Alan Wilensky, both Republicans, will run unopposed, as will Republican candidate for town treasurer, Abbas Danesh.

    For the RTM, the Democrats endorsed Chris Bachant, Nick Gauthier, Frank Mangual and Liz Garciz Gonzalez for District 1; Baird Welch-Collins, Greg Attanasio, Ted Olynciw and Margaret Welch for District 2; Michael Stankov, Tim Fioravanti, Sarbani Hazra, Emmeline Franklin and Kathy Kohl for District 3; and Susan Driscoll, Steve Elci, Sally B. Ritchie and Laurie Wolfley for District 4.

    Republicans, meanwhile, endorsed Timothy Condon, Valerie Muckle Metivier, Danielle Steward-Gelinas and Robert E. Swansen for District 1; April Cairns, Michael Hannan, Tali Maidelis and Liam O'Leary for District 2; Jennifer Antonio Bracciale, Paul Goldstein, David Lersch, Richard Morgan and Richard Muckle for District 3; Michael Bono, Thomas Dembek, Francisco Ribas and Michael Rocchetti for District 4.

    The Republicans endorsed Michele Devine, Pat Fedor, Amanda Gates-Lamothe and Craig Merriman for the Board of Education, while the Democrats endorsed Miriam Furey-Wagner, Marcia Benvenuti and Christine Hammond.

    For the Board of Finance, Democrats Joe Filippetti, Kate Fioravanti, Jerry Fischer and Albert Dahl will face Republicans Anthony Jessuck, Kevin Reardon and Jim Reid.

    Marilyn Lusher received the Republican endorsement for the Board of Assessment Appeals, while the Zoning Board of Appeals endorsements went to Catherine Newlin and Warren MacKenzie.

    The Democrats endorsed Marianna McGuirk for the Board of Assessment Appeals, John Morgan and Billy Gene Collins for the Zoning Board of Appeals and Jason Maryeski for Zoning Board of Appeals alternate.


    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.