Support Local News.

At a moment of historic disruption and change with the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the calls for social and racial justice and the upcoming local and national elections, there's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Friends and Neighbors

Stonington Garden Club awards scholarships

The Stonington Garden Club has awarded scholarships to two recent graduates of Stonington High School for their planned pursuit of environmental sciences in college. Daniel Robinson and Abigail Gibson received $1,000 after a virtual awards ceremony in June.

Robinson, who will be studying at UConn in the fall, received the SGC Environmental Studies Award. He is a longtime volunteer at the Mystic Seaport Museum and plans to use his college experience to push for positive environmental change in the community.

Gibson, who will be studying at Johns Hopkins University, received the SGC Environmental Awareness Award. She organized a STEM Exploration Day at the high school this year and has been studying biodegradable plastics at home to help reduce plastic waste in the ocean.

For more information about the club, visit


COMO announces annual scholarship recipients

Through its six college scholarship funds, the Stonington Community Center has distributed $37,100 in scholarships to 49 area students as follows:

Hendricks Whitman Award: Vanessa Benjamin, Trevor Fornara and Russell Olson.

Mary H. Boatwright Endowment Fund Scholarship: Grace Conti.

Robert and Doris Ramsbotham Endowment Fund Scholarship: Chloe Chenot, Krista Jones, Claire Leamon, Elizabeth Yarnall and Izadora Yarnall.

Frank Turek Endowment Fund Scholarship: Isabella Basile, Ashley Culver, Madison Geiger, Emma Grimsley, Emily Lewis, Nicholas Moukawsher and Samantha Narducci.

Josh Piver Scholarship: Will Canella.

Francis Drake Endowment Fund Scholarship: Emma Anderson, Lily Anderson, Evan Boisoneau, Emmett Breen, Ava Brunnock, Andrew Castagliulo, Heidi Chapell, Elizabeth Conger, Beatrice Cox, Tyler Fidrych, Lillian Flack, Sarah Flakus, Trevor Fornara, Benjamin Fyke, Eliza Gilbert, Abigail Gibson, Connor Hall, Connor Hennessey, Lucas Holliman, Kathyrn Logel, Isabella McCarthy, Isabella McClure, Brenna McNeil, Audrey Mejza, Russell Olson, Jacob Park, Derek Raymond, Una Schaffer, Maggie Spadardo, Iris Wainston, Cole Wilbur and Kaira Wiltshire.

For more information, visit


Old Lyme student receives Max Cares scholarship

Jacob Olsen of Old Lyme, a rising sophomore at Johnson and Wales University, is one of five recipients of the Hartford-based Max Cares Foundation scholarships for 2020. The program recognizes students studying culinary arts and hospitality management, and Olsen will receive $2,500 toward his sports, entertainment and event management degree. For more information, visit


Groton Rotary announces scholarships

The Groton Rotary Club has announced $7,000 in scholarships to recent high school graduates exhibiting the Rotary objective of service in the community. Awards were funded with money from the club as well as donations from R.B. Kent & Son, Groton Utilities and Brustolon Motors.

Recipients include Fitch graduate Adelle Clark, who will be attending Brown University; Marine Science Magnet graduate Stephanie Weber, who will be attending Lesley University, and Grasso Tech graduates Jared LaCross and Kaitlynn Brito, both of whom will be attending UConn.

For more information, visit


Stonington fund announces college award recipients

The Eugene Atwood Fund has announced the recipients of its annual awards, honoring graduating high school seniors from 19 New London County high schools with a total of $25,000 in interest-free loans.

Recipients of the Eugene Atwood Award include Grace Narducci of Stonington High School, Keren Gabriel of the Science and Technology Magnet High School and Katerina Petrosky of The Williams School.

Local recipients of the Eugene Atwood Recognition Award include Hayden Yuan of East Lyme High School, Jared LaCross of Grasso Technical High School, Jessica Juoni of Ledyard High School, Biuma Mariame of Lyme-Old Lyme High School, Yaraliz Berrios Saez of New London High School, Emma Smith of Fitch High School, James Babinski of Saint Bernard School, Elise Tuckwood of Waterford High School and Malcom Thompson of Wheeler High School.

The Stonington-based fund has been offering college loans for more than 100 years; recipients pay back the money upon graduation to support the next class. The fund's new trade school loan program is accepting applications through July 31 at


Friends and Neighbors is a regular feature in The Times. To contribute, email


Loading comments...
Hide Comments