Log In

Reset Password
  • MENU
    Local News
    Sunday, April 14, 2024

    Waterford Democrats will not endorse candidate for first selectman

    Waterford ― The Democratic Town Committee will not endorse a candidate for first selectman this November, which means incumbent Republican Rob Brule will likely run unopposed unless someone petitions to be on the ballot.

    “We went out looking for people who we felt were qualified to do the job and people who were at a place in their lives who could make a career change, it’s a full-time job,” Democratic Town Committee Chair Cathy Barnard said. “We didn’t find anybody who at this stage in their lives was willing to make that career change.”

    The Democrats though have no plans of cross-endorsing Brule, Barnard said Tuesday.

    In addition, the Democratic Town Committee endorsed incumbent Greg Attanasio for selectman while the Republican Town Committee endorsed incumbent Richard Muckle. They too will run unopposed unless there is a petitioning candidate.

    For the Board of Education, Democrats endorsed incumbent Marcia Benvenuti and newcomers Liz Garcia Gonzalez, Doris Crum and Laurie Wolfley. The Republicans endorsed incumbents Mindy Stone, Pat Fedor, Amanda Gates-Lamothe and Craig Merriman.

    For Board of Finance, Democrats endorsed incumbents John W. “Bill” Sheehan, David Peabody and newcomer Cheryl Larder while Republicans endorsed former Representative Town Meeting member Mike Rocchetti, incumbent J. Robert Tuneski and newcomers Marc Mazzella and Lee Couture.

    Democrats did not endorse candidates for the positions of town clerk, town treasurer and tax collector. The Republicans endorsed incumbent David Campo for town clerk, incumbent Abbas Danesh for town treasurer and Alan Wilensky for tax collector.

    For the RTM, Democrats endorsed incumbents Nick Gauthier and Lindsay Khan, and newcomers Ursula Moreshead and Kayla Mullen for District 1; incumbents Ted Olynciw, Mary Childs, Kristin Gonzalez and Kyrah Augmon-Bossa for District 2; incumbent Tim Fioravanti and newcomers Kathy Mullen Kohl, Ron Elkin, Matt Charles and Guy Calkins for District 3; incumbent Susan Driscoll and newcomers Mariette Ogg, Erica Casper, Jerry Fischer and Ocean Pellett for District 4.

    The Republicans endorsed incumbents Danielle Steward-Gelinas, Timothy Condon, Richard Holmes and newcomer Michael Perkins for District 1; incumbent Kevin Girard and newcomers Kate Mackenzie, Craig Hart and Mark Campo for District 2; incumbents Jennifer Antonino-Bracciale, Ryan Healy, Paul Goldstein, Harry Colonis and newcomer Shawn Monahan for District 3; incumbents Michael Bono, Tom Demdek, David Sugrue and newcomers Matt Keatley and Christina Jessuck for District 4.


    Comment threads are monitored for 48 hours after publication and then closed.